Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Istanbul Topkapi Walking Tour Excursion Reviews

Istanbul Topkapi Walking Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
For those interested in learning about the exotic world of the Ottoman Empire, take a walking tour of Topkapi as you experience the Topkapi Palace and Archaeology museum.
Member Image mws007
1 review
Jul 2015
Not enough time to go into = basically a walk around the grounds
Read mws007's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Latina55
1 review
Jun 2015
so much history about Ottoman Empire, sultans, etc.
Read Latina55's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Tigs2015
1 review
Jun 2015
One of the main sights to see, try to visit early before the big tour groups, queues and heat increase. Head for the popular areas first especially the museum sections then stop for a coffee and finish with a stroll around to get some great photos from wonderful vantage points overlooking the city.
Read Tigs2015's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: nazli zobranli
Member Image hyker1
7 reviews
Jun 2015
The lunch at the Palace was truly OUTSTANDING, but they don't have adequate bathroom stalls. Plan ahead and be sure you're ready to wait in a LONG line to use the facilities! Sad to say, again the crowds were a serious issue. Guide told us up front we wouldn't be able to see the Palace Jewel Collection, due to the long lines and there not being enough time. I think they should limit numbers of people on these tours so it's more enjoyable. Like anything else, early-birds will get the worm if they sign up for the tours EARLY!
Read hyker1's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image history professor
1 review
Jun 2015
Managed to see almost everything in spite of many tourists
Read history professor's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image hoopmd
1 review
May 2015
This was a highlight of our trip
Read hoopmd's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Daily Istanbul Tours
Member Image seasoned60
1 review
May 2015
Due to crowds you wait in long lines and get to see three areas filled with jewels and clocks. The grounds and views are lovely. Having a guide provides good information.
Read seasoned60's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Mandala
1 review
May 2015
I was disappointed that my camera battery ran out, and I was unable to take pictures, but the palace was indeed very grand! We also toured the Harem, which was a little disturbing, considering few of the girls brought there went by choice. Much pomp is given to monuments built to serve human misery, which is too bad.
Read Mandala's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image cold atlantic
1 review
May 2015
Istanbul is not really a one day city but the must see sites are within walking distance of each other.Consider a private tour-the ship is docked nearby.The mosque we saw was nice but really wanted to see the Blue Mosque or Sulieman.
Read cold atlantic's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image adriaan1969
1 review
Apr 2015
Very interesting to see how such an old "town" is still there and how the life was at that time. Beautifull. Especialy visit the Harem! Pls note that ther are long lines for the museun so buy your tickets upfront.
Read adriaan1969's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image wherestheship
2 reviews
Apr 2015
Not enough time to explore this beautiful place. our excellent tour guide got us into palace before all the crowds. The buildings are amazing not to mention whats inside, some of the most amazing treasures are on display. The gardens are beautiful and were full of colour.
Read wherestheship's full MSC Magnifica cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Stormgirl2014
1 review
Sep 2014
Interesting tour.
Read Stormgirl2014's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Cruising excursions
Member Image Stanley Cruiser
3 reviews
Sep 2014

I'll die a happy man if I never have to visit Istanbul again! I'm just not a city person.
Topkapi walking tour - I survived. Could have done without the carpet shop sales pitch.

Read Stanley Cruiser's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image *angel*
2 reviews
Sep 2014

To see the Spoon diamond(this is what they called it) in Topkapi Palace was very crowded.

Read *angel*'s full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image SOFIKO
1 review
Aug 2014

Monument of historical interest only

Read SOFIKO's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image CondorX2
1 review
Sep 2013

It was not so great. We did like like it but, too many things and not enough time to visit everything;
the Museum was great , theJewellery...oh God ,fabulous.

Read CondorX2's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image bjrose
2 reviews
Sep 2013

The tour guide was knowledgeable and thorough but the city is not somewhere I would return to. It was very dirty and overcrowded and gave me a bad feeling.

Read bjrose's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: ephesus shuttle
Member Image sueajp
4 reviews
Sep 2013

This was part of our overall tour. We saw the harem and all the sultans rooms. Very well done.Amazing domes and tiles everywhere.

Read sueajp's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image prinsjh
2 reviews
Sep 2013

All the sites listed were on our NCL shore excursion. We decided to upgrade to the "exclusive classic Istanbul" which was well worth the price difference. There were only 13 of us with one guide in a minivan. The minivan was able to manuever aroung many traffic snarls. Our guide, Jasmine, was very informative and made the tour interesting and most enjoyable. She again was from the Turkish Tourism agency and just fabulous. She interacted with all the passengers and made for the best tour on the cruise. Lunch at the terrace level of a local hotel near the Grand Bazaar was delicious. It is very crowded in Istanbul now that many of the cruise lines have rerouted to Turkey instead of Eqypt. It is best of find a small group to tour the city. This particular excursion is one of the best I have ever experienced.

Read prinsjh's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Surfari1
1 review
Aug 2013

Dilek our guide was, again, excellent.
rich cultural history and gorgeous - (the palace)

Read Surfari1's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image rongoldner
1 review
May 2013

Unorganized. Difficult to enjoy as there were mobs of people going into dark rooms.

Read rongoldner's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image kangarooboy
6 reviews
Oct 2012
Topkapi Palace itself was good but the diamonds & jewellery were amazing.
Read kangarooboy's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image ruby0512
1 review
Sep 2012
Excellent tour, lots of greenery. Had a lovely lunch at 12 including wine. The underground cistern was amazing, thoroughly recommend going there. The Grand Bazaar was very big. Carpet demo was good although the carpets were very expensive. I felt sorry for the carpet demo people the next day in Kusadasi as i didnt know we were seeing that again and made a quick exit.
Read ruby0512's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image TTT Traveler
1 review
Sep 2012
The same tour guide was with us for all the places we went in Istanbul and she was really great. She was very informative all day long and our lunch was exceptional. We want to return to Istanbul for several more days - it is a great, clean, and extremely interesting city.
Read TTT Traveler's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image klitz
1 review
Sep 2012
Very impressive. We found the Harem section worth the extra money.
Read klitz's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Crui$erCT
2 reviews
Jul 2012
So much to see at Topkapi Palace. We really enjoyed seeing all the various parts of it, but again our tour guide was underwhelming in her explanations overall, so that may have colored our less than enthusiastic rating of this expansive place. However, we were glad to have seen it. Lots of interesting costumes, jewels, and weaponry.
Read Crui$erCT's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: ephesustours.biz
Member Image wismergirl
4 reviews
Jul 2012
The Topkapi Palace used to be the residence of the Ottoman Sultans. We moved from room to room to view the Treasury and particularly enjoyed the view of Istanbul from the terrace.
Read wismergirl's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Shuttle
Member Image Artteacher
2 reviews
Jun 2012
A great look into the age of the Sultans. Check out the armory and the below-the-floor exhibit. Lots to see, get there early to avoid the crowds.
Read Artteacher's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image baillie
1 review
May 2012
A little less time here and more time at the Grand Bazaar. Everyone sat around for 30 minutes after seeing everything.
Read baillie's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image doffina
2 reviews
May 2012
We booked a private tour of Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Hippodrome, and Grand Bazaar. All are in walking distance of each other. Our guide was wonderful and well informed. This is a beautiful city to sail into, with the Bosporus Strait dividing it. You could easily stay here several days to really experience it and may return one day.
Read doffina's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image msupovitz
1 review
Not Rated
May 2012

a

Read msupovitz's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Peter Wise
1 review
Not Rated
Apr 2012
This was a Sunday visit the day before a public holiday. You'd have been forgiven for thinking that all 16 million of Istanbul's inhabitants were out visiting its historical sights, together with its 5000 persistent and often aggressive street vendors. The palace and museum were overcrowded and it was difficult trying to see the exhibits. We did spend a few fleeting seconds looking at the famous jewel encrusted dagger and the 82 carat diamond and that was about it. You couldn't stand still and linger. Glad I had the opportunity to see it nonetheless.
Read Peter Wise's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.