Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Istanbul Spice Market Excursion Reviews

Istanbul Spice Market cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Experience the wondrous spice perfume that fills the air at Istanbul's spice market, and pick up gifts and souvenirs.
Member Image postrain
1 review
Oct 2014

Despite the rainy weather, we had a nice cruise on the Bosphorus and saw many of the sites we had seen on our own prior to the trip. The Spice Market was a substitute as it was Sunday and the Grand Bazaar was closed. Overall, it was good and the guide was knowledgeable and easily understood.

Read postrain's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image canuck1669
1 review
Apr 2014

Fun place to visit and see all spices, fruits nuts etc.

Read canuck1669's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions
Member Image CondorX2
1 review
Sep 2013

It was not so great. Too crowded, oomany people and not enough time...we had 20mn.

Read CondorX2's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Surfari1
1 review
Aug 2013

Nearly got left nehind at the end of the tour, but otherwise good.

Read Surfari1's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image sea pup
2 reviews
Aug 2013

Was interesting to see all the different spoces

Read sea pup's full Thomson Celebration cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Banjo_uk
2 reviews
Not Rated
Mar 2013
It does exactly what it says on the tin, a great place
Read Banjo_uk's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Pezzy
1 review
Feb 2013
Interesting place..part of the complete tour we took
Read Pezzy's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sadied
2 reviews
Not Rated
Oct 2012
do this on your own. no bargaining here.
Read sadied's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Riley Dog
1 review
Not Rated
Jul 2012
The tour we complained about: spice market good but the fish market poor. Expected it to be a part of something bigger but it is just a fish market requiring a 30 minute journey through city traffic to get there. The guided tour of the city centre was non-existent (DIY and come back in an hour!) and there was a stop at a jewellery shop billed as traditional Turkish crafts but selling Swiss watches (not quite in keeping with trades description!)
Read Riley Dog's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image wismergirl
4 reviews
Jul 2012
There were lots of spices, teas and other souvenirs on sale in the Spice Market. The best was its location which was close to Galata Bridge and the Golden Horn with the floating restaurants. Lots of picture opportunities nearby even if you are not interested in shopping at the Spice Market.
Read wismergirl's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Shuttle
Member Image Artteacher
2 reviews
Jun 2012
Saffron seems to be the big seller here, but there is also lots of other things to choose from. Try the apple tea.
Read Artteacher's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image paul stabb
1 review
Apr 2012
A good boat trip around the Bosphorus straits, largely in between the 2 huge suspension bridges - wrap up warm for this! Spice Market visited after the boat trip. Interesting and very very busy!
Read paul stabb's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Peter Wise
1 review
Apr 2012
This is a wonderfully colourful and aromatic experience, but not for those who are uncomfortable in extremely crowded and confined spaces. The building is high but narrow and the day we went (Sunday) it was choc a bloc. The main entrance is also the main exit so people jostle to get in and out. Once in, it can be difficult to be a tourist i.e. to stand and look - because you get carried along. Like the rest of the Istanbul visit, it's not one I would have wanted to miss, but not one I'd care to repeat. According to our guide it's like that every day.
Read Peter Wise's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.