Istanbul Hagia Sofia Excursion Reviews

Istanbul Hagia Sofia cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Once a church, then a mosque, and now a museum, the Hagia Sophia features a gallery of mosaics and is one of the world's finest examples of Byzantine architecture.
Member Image grinchychick
3 reviews
Jun 2016
beautiful historic site
Read grinchychick's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image tearhead
1 review
Jun 2016
Keep an eye on your guide.
Read tearhead's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image caribesun
1 review
Jun 2016
Beautiful. Enjoyed history Churches pass from Christian to Mosque. But time in bazaar was too long
Read caribesun's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Judgeo19
1 review
May 2016
Only place you can see influence from Jesus Mohamed and Allah
Read Judgeo19's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Gail Watanabe
1 review
Apr 2016
Very interesting and full of history.
Read Gail Watanabe's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image silvertreveller
1 review
Oct 2015
Part of our tour and no to be missed
Read silvertreveller's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image welsh89
1 review
Oct 2015
A missive church, come mosque come museum. If you like architecture then this is for you
Read welsh89's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Stuartgail
1 review
Sep 2015
Beautiful
Read Stuartgail's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: ounce tours
Member Image valbob89
3 reviews
Sep 2015
While crowded, very interesting.
Read valbob89's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image JessMama
1 review
Jul 2015
This was amazing even though we were in Istanbul on a Friday. The line for Hagia Sofia was 90 minutes, but drinking in the sights and sounds of this amazing city was awesome in every sense of the word.
Read JessMama's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions
Member Image podo59
1 review
Jul 2015
Our tour guide, Yousef, met us at the dock. We were then picked up and taken to the Hippodrome where we began our tour which included the Sultan Ahmed Mosque (Blue Mosque), the Basilica Cistern (fantastic), and the Hagia Sophia. Yousef spoke English very well and was informative, but was not the most enthusiastic tour guide I have ever had. We were satisfied with the experience, however, and would recommend this company.
Read podo59's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Effendi Travel
Member Image mgoudoras
1 review
Jun 2015
Huge massive building. Hard to fathom how it was built.
Read mgoudoras's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Latina55
1 review
Jun 2015
such a beautiful Church, then become a Mosque now a Museum, don't miss it.
Read Latina55's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Rose108
1 review
Jun 2015
Did the one and a half day tour that included Topkapi, Blue Mosque, Haggia Sofia, Grand Bazaar, Spice Market and the Underground Cistern. Worth doing - Topaki would have been better to have had more time but the rest was well planned.
Read Rose108's full Queen Victoria cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image Marcia Priske
1 review
Jun 2015
Due to first day of Ramadan the Blue Mosque was closed (not NCL's fault). We enjoyed this tour.
Read Marcia Priske's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Tigs2015
1 review
Jun 2015
Worth visiting with a knowledgeable guide to point out how Chrisitian heritage was covered over when it was turned into a mosque. The blueprint for many churches and mosques.
Read Tigs2015's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: nazli zobranli
Member Image hyker1
8 reviews
Jun 2015
Fabulous! However, the crowds are once again an issue. This was one site where I was thankful for the electronic guide transmitter, though. Our guide did a great job explaining the rich history of the Hagia Sophia.
Read hyker1's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image history professor
1 review
Jun 2015
Enjoyed the visit
Read history professor's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image hoopmd
1 review
May 2015
Incredibly a MUST SEE
Read hoopmd's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Daily Istanbul Tours
Member Image LCJones629
1 review
May 2015
This was just OK. I would anyone about going on tour that is going to take you to a Turkish Rug maker, so that you can avoid the high pressure sales pitch. Ugh!
Read LCJones629's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Travel Bound
Member Image seasoned60
1 review
May 2015
This is good because you view the historical sights and also see all the vendors with foods that are popular in the city. You can hear the call to prayer all over the city.
Read seasoned60's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Cruise-vacation2015
1 review
May 2015
The best part of the excursion! It is amazing inside! You will not be disappointed. There is a lot of really old artifacts inside and lots of history to it.
Read Cruise-vacation2015's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cold atlantic
2 reviews
May 2015
Amazing structure with beautiful mosaics.Once a Christian church-then a mosque-all christian icons were plastered over.They were uncovered when it became a museum.
Read cold atlantic's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image JoeMama#1
1 review
Apr 2015
Beautiful! What can I say. A lovely experience. The tour guide gave us descriptions of history and the structure itself. She made the decision to adjust the time of our visit by the crowds. Experience helps when being a guide.
Read JoeMama#1's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Meander
Member Image matkin
1 review
Apr 2015
good tour, and guide, traffic very slow
Read matkin's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: cms travel service

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?