Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Istanbul Grand Bazaar Excursion Reviews

Istanbul Grand Bazaar cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Istanbul's Grand Bazaar, once the center of trade for the Ottoman Empire, is one of the largest markets in the world with more than 3,000 shops covering 61 streets.
Member Image Stanley Cruiser
3 reviews
Sep 2014

Actually would have like more time in the bazaar.

Read Stanley Cruiser's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image *angel*
1 review
Sep 2014

The grand Bazaar is like a maze and you can easily get lost. Remember if you are not prepared to purchase anything don't ask how much it costs?

Read *angel*'s full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image SOFIKO
1 review
Aug 2014

Loca smell of the traditional turkish market

Read SOFIKO's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image RogerW
1 review
Jul 2014

The Grand Bazaar is a thriving complex, employing 26,000 people visited by between 250,000 and 400,000 visitors daily, has 60 streets and 5000 shops and one of the major landmarks of Istanbul. It has to compete with modern other shopping malls found in Istanbul.
Be prepared for street sellers standing outside the main gates. its a very busy place, lots of jewellery shops and food places to eat.

Read RogerW's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Cruiseexcursions.com
Member Image cosmics
1 review
Jun 2014

massive.. interesting to see if left to browse in peace with you are not.

Read cosmics's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image canuck1669
1 review
Apr 2014

Can't go to Istanbul without visiting. Really not enough time to fully explore (45 minutes) Thought it would be more like an outdoor market with stalls etc. More like an indoor shopping mall with stores. Allow at lease two hours or more to explore.

Read canuck1669's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions
Member Image Graham K
2 reviews
Nov 2013

One of THE most full-on, mad, bustling, hustling, crazy, draining cities I've ever visited...and this is coming from an ex-Londoner! Not for the shy and retiring, it's a fully charged head-rush of ancient colliding with ultra modern. Breakneck pace of life, literally teams upon teams of pestering hustlers jump on you the minute they can, and from then on, you're targeted until you're finally fleeced by the taxi driver on your journey back to the port.
WORD OF WARNING...if you visit Ismir, DO NOT get a ride from the taxi drivers swarming around the terminal...they phone ahead, drop you off, where upon the door is opened by one of their acquaintances that just happen to own a leather shop. Planned hustle par excellence. BE WARNED!

Read Graham K's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image bjrose
2 reviews
Sep 2013

I thought this place was disgusting with nothing but junk to buy. The merchants were so rude to us, in fact. One said, "you Americans should go back home. Don't buy here. We don't want you." And, we were with 2 others and we hadn't said a word! It was most disconcerting and upsetting. It is so dirty over there and not somewhere I would ever buy anything.

Read bjrose's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Shuttle
Member Image sueajp
4 reviews
Sep 2013

It was a little crazy!!! You could easily get lost and we were on our own here following the carpet demonstration. We stayed on the main road since it was a maze! We were approached to buy but not harassed as I thought we might. We tried some savory treats and bought just a few things..

Read sueajp's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image prinsjh
2 reviews
Sep 2013

This is really phenomenal. If you are a shopper, this is not to be missed. Thousands of stalls and vendors everywhere you stroll.

Read prinsjh's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CarolynAustralia
1 review
Aug 2013

The Bosphorus Cruise was great and then we got to see the Spice Market (AMAZING!) and the Grand Bazaar (Not so amazing!)

Read CarolynAustralia's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Surfari1
1 review
Aug 2013

Very enjoyable with rich colours and frangrances. Enjoyed haggling with the store owners. Some even spoke Afrikaans!

Read Surfari1's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Cruise XYZ
4 reviews
Jul 2013

Not a favorite place

Read Cruise XYZ's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image JLU917
1 review
Mar 2013
Not my cup of tea. Too big and overwhelming. And we really dislike merchants' "in your face" salesmanship.
Read JLU917's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: cruisingexcursions.com
Member Image Banjo_uk
2 reviews
Not Rated
Mar 2013
After having been to the Souks in Marrakech, I was a little dissapointed at theis place.
Read Banjo_uk's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image EIslander
1 review
Mar 2013
This is pretty cool. You get to haggle for goods, but more than likely, you'll pay too much for cheap stuff.
Read EIslander's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Pezzy
1 review
Feb 2013
Too many stores with the same stuff. Have to bargain. Never know if you are really getting a good deal but worth the time to see it
Read Pezzy's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image DURSEYGIRL
2 reviews
Not Rated
Feb 2013
Too much time at the carpet factory showroom and not enough at the Grand bazaar.
Read DURSEYGIRL's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image sadied
2 reviews
Not Rated
Oct 2012
do on your own if you dare. you will be hassled to death and so confused you will want to flee. I would only shop here with a Turkish friend.
Read sadied's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Kallisto
1 review
Oct 2012
Grand bazaar is a touristic happening, but not to be missed. You can bargain quite good.
Read Kallisto's full Costa Favolosa cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image JemIB66
5 reviews
Oct 2012
The Grand Bazaar was fascinating and very colourful. It's a great pity that we were only given 20 minutes to look around.
Read JemIB66's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image kangarooboy
6 reviews
Oct 2012
This was part of our deal of sights in Istanbul but we ran out of time & only had 20 minutes in the bazaar.However we felt it was more important to see Hagia Sofia,Blue Mosque & Topkapi palace.
Read kangarooboy's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image Annalise
8 reviews
Sep 2012

Surprisingly I loved Istanbul. I was not expecting to see this modern, bustling city. Our guide, Sertan, was very informative. We saw a demonstration of how Turkish rugs are handmade.The weaving is done by hand and passed on through generations. Final stop was the Grand Bazaar which has been very modernized. Glass storefronts down endless corridors sold jewelry, leather,clothing,hooka pipes and boxed candy called Turkish Delight. Sheer size of bazaar was intimidating to say the least.Lots of sellers in the streets trying to get you to buy anything and everything.

Read Annalise's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image icini
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2012
Great place. No guide provided for Bazaar and easy to get lost.
Read icini's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jabbathehutte
1 review
Sep 2012
Easy to get lost, it is so big
Read jabbathehutte's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image kingrodney
1 review
Sep 2012
The Grand Bazaar was worth seeing but we found it was all a bit rushed and an all abit samey after a while. The jewelery was amazing and had to be seen to be believed. We ventured outside the Grand Bazaar after a while and it was much more interesting. We didn't venture too far though as we were worried we'd get lost and that would have been quite easy.
Read kingrodney's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image klitz
1 review
Sep 2012
Enormous array of shops. There are many intriguing specialty shops, although many of the shops sell the same junk. Bargain hard.
Read klitz's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Ekol Travel
Member Image rossgregg
2 reviews
Aug 2012
Too crowded. All the same stores up and down the isles. Merchants are very aggressive.
Read rossgregg's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Crui$erCT
2 reviews
Jul 2012
We actually enjoyed the Grand Bazaar a lot. We expected to be bothered by the shopkeepers calling out to us, but these interruptions were few and far between. In the stalls where we bought scarves, ceramics & food, the vendors were very friendly and helpful. The reason we didn't rate this stop above a 3 is because our tour guide took us to a "cultural demonstration" of rugmaking. There was NO demonstration; rather, there was a brief explanation of of the Turkish style of rugmaking and then about 30 rugs were rolled at our feet with the expectation that we would buy something after drinking the proffered tea. When we said thank you and goodbye without purchasing anything, we got cold stares, but no rude badgering to buy, thankfully. Our tour guide should have asked us whether we were interested in buying a carpet; we would have told her no. Luckily it was over in about 30 mins.
Read Crui$erCT's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: ephesustours.biz
Member Image wismergirl
4 reviews
Jul 2012
We were given over 2 hours to spend at the Grand Bazaar which is one of the oldest and biggest covered markets in the world. There were close to 60 covered streets. We spent a lot of time at one store to buy many of those ceramic Turkish dishes, kept bargaining until we got 8 small (2") ones for US$10. Then I bought some silk book marks with Turkish patterns or attractions on for US$1 each. There were lots of stores that sold Turkish costumes like bra and belt sets. My friends bought 2 leather jackets there with instant alterations while they waited.
Read wismergirl's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Shuttle
Member Image World Gallery
12 reviews
Not Rated
Jun 2012
Did this was a private guide and felt like we learn about it's history and got to see more of the athentic vendors. Our kids loved it here. Get some turkish delights here. Our kids enjoyed trying these.
Read World Gallery's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Artteacher
2 reviews
Jun 2012
Do not venture off the main thoroughfare unless you have GPS navigation - and remember, even if you say 'no' you are actually opening a negotiaion - just walk away, they totally expect it and it's not rude.
Read Artteacher's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image baillie
1 review
May 2012
Istanbul took the 8 hour trip off the boat...saw lots of sites. One issue was the tour guide when we where going in for the rug demonstration would not tell us what time we all had to meet back up. After the rug demonstration found out we had to meet back up in 15 minutes....this left me 15 minutes to go into the grand bazaar! My main reason for going to Istanbul. Great disappointment. Kusadasi, this is a must see port. Not enough room here to discuss.
Read baillie's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Twinmum
2 reviews
May 2012
We booked a tour that really gave us a taste of Istanbul and some of it's culture, which was great because it was a port we would never have thought to go to ourselves. The bazaar is unbelievably huge with 4,000 shops and stalls and we would have loved many more hours to peruse and bargain here.
Read Twinmum's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image msupovitz
1 review
Not Rated
May 2012

a

Read msupovitz's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.