Istanbul Grand Bazaar Excursion Reviews

Istanbul Grand Bazaar cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Istanbul's Grand Bazaar, once the center of trade for the Ottoman Empire, is one of the largest markets in the world with more than 3,000 shops covering 61 streets.
Member Image grinchychick
3 reviews
Jun 2016
great experience
Read grinchychick's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Judgeo19
1 review
May 2016
4000 booths.
Read Judgeo19's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Gail Watanabe
1 review
Apr 2016
It was overwhelming with so many vendors and a maze to navigate through.
Read Gail Watanabe's full Viking Sea cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image silvertreveller
1 review
Oct 2015
Spent the last 1.5 hours in here, many shops/stalls the same, how do they make a living ?? but well worth a visit
Read silvertreveller's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: SPB Med
Member Image welsh89
1 review
Oct 2015
i was a bit disappointed here, at first it was really interesting to see all the shops but you quickly realise all the shops are selling the same things and its very crowded in there .
Read welsh89's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Stuartgail
1 review
Sep 2015
Overwhelming
Read Stuartgail's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: ounce tours
Member Image valbob89
3 reviews
Sep 2015
Part of the overall tour. Glad I went once to see it but I wouldn't go back as I don't like shopping nor haggling over price.
Read valbob89's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Lee/Cy
1 review
Sep 2015
Private Wonders of Istanbul was a great tour with a very bright, articulate guide. Bizarre can be overwhelming and our guide made changes in our schedule because he knew it was not a priority for us.
Read Lee/Cy's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Amma24
3 reviews
Aug 2015
Guide left us to explore on our own, as I'm sure was necessary, but the bazaar itself was not as we'd expected. Architecture was interesting but very little in the stalls appealed. Go to the Spice Market instead.
Read Amma24's full Star Pride cruise review
Provider: Windstar Cruises
Member Image Boxie_boy
1 review
Aug 2015
When the ships arrive the prices go up, In Rome it was cheaper to buy the scarves!
Read Boxie_boy's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image JessMama
1 review
Jul 2015
Our guide led us to the Grand Bazaar, where we had free time to eat and shop. We ended up wandering down an alley by the 2nd McDonald's and had the best meal of the entire vacation. We were the only Americans in there. They led us around to pick out the food we wanted and served us like we were family members. They finished it with complimentary Turkish tea. The whole meal cost just under 20 euro. We wished we had more time to shop, but we needed to get in lone for the Blue Mosque.
Read JessMama's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions
Member Image ClareV
1 review
Jun 2015
So much to see and buy here
Read ClareV's full MSC Magnifica cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Latina55
1 review
Jun 2015
we just walk around, heaven for shoppers.
Read Latina55's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Michael Dodd
1 review
Jun 2015
Very interesting experience. Blue Mosque was not an option due to the time of year. Grand Bazaar was not much of an experience. Excursion ended up at carpet factory which was far too hard sell.
Read Michael Dodd's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kaf1sh
3 reviews
Jun 2015
Hours of fun! An endless array of shops and banter.
Read kaf1sh's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Tigs2015
1 review
Jun 2015
Fantastic. You can buy anything here, it is exciting, overwhelming, fun and gorgeous. You'll probably have to barter but it's all good natured. May be too much for some, a bit crowded and clausterphobic but it's a unique place so make the effort to see some of it.
Read Tigs2015's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: nazli zobranli
Member Image Colonel Vatutin
3 reviews
Jun 2015
Great for shopping.
Read Colonel Vatutin's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image hyker1
8 reviews
Jun 2015
The cruise lines don't do tourists any favors. Prices really are jacked for cruise passengers. My advice is NOT to shop in the cruise-line recommended stores. Carry cash and buy elsewhere. The bargaining process is fun and the store owners truly have a charm all their own in the interaction with potential buyers. It's a great experience.
Read hyker1's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image hoopmd
1 review
May 2015
We only had a limited amount of time here. The locals don't shop here and you MUST bargain with the vendors
Read hoopmd's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Daily istanbul Tours
Member Image LCJones629
1 review
May 2015
This was just OK. I would anyone about going on tour that is going to take you to a Turkish Rug maker, so that you can avoid the high pressure sales pitch. Ugh!
Read LCJones629's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Travel Bound
Member Image seasoned60
1 review
May 2015
very crowed and too many of the same shops seen before. There were lots of residents buying items and they were dressed in their very modest black clothing as one would expect.
Read seasoned60's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image garywarry
1 review
May 2015
Very interesting but part of a very long 2 day trip and exhausting
Read garywarry's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Cruise-vacation2015
1 review
May 2015
It was okay. They defiantly hustled you. They will leave you alone if you do not have money. Go in further and you have better deals close to the gates prices are 3x higher and not worth it. Don't get lost! If you do its almost impossible to get out. Directions to get out aren't the best. You will not need a lot of time here. I'm a shopaholic and i can tell u after an hour I wanted to leave very badly.
Read Cruise-vacation2015's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cold atlantic
2 reviews
May 2015
would opt for spice market next time.The vendors here are of course aggressive,there is a maze of alleys and a repeat of products available i.e. Turkish Delight,leather goods, jewelry etc
Read cold atlantic's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image JoeMama#1
1 review
Apr 2015
I was disappointed with the bazaar itself not the guide, just seemed like a lot of "stuff" that all of us don't need to buy. The market must have been incredible years ago.
Read JoeMama#1's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Meander

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?