Istanbul City Tour Excursion Reviews

Istanbul City Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
A city tour provides a comprehensive overview of the city’s main highlights and points of interest, such as Hagia Sophia and the Grand Bazaar.
Member Image cat shepard
1 review
May 2016
The Basilica cistern was the highlight of this excursion, though the Spice Market was a delight for our senses. The cruise was relaxing and fun, though not particularly insightful or educational.
Read cat shepard's full Eurodam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image julie910
1 review
Oct 2015
I was not expecting to, but I fell in love with Istanbul! Our tour included all the must-see sights: Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi, Hippodrome Square, and the Grand Bazaar. We had lunch on our own near the Mosque. The lines for all the sights were long, but moved reasonably quickly, and they worth the wait. Words cannot express -- just go see them all! We wished we had more time in this wonderful city.
Read julie910's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Cruising Excursions
Member Image igor mandrinsky
1 review
Sep 2015
A vibrant and fascinating city! Visited a very beautiful mosque, a couple of the local markets and a rug weaving demo. The only downside to our Istanbul experience was our departure through Istanbul airport. Totally chaotic. But part of the experience.
Read igor mandrinsky's full Viking Star cruise review
Provider: Viking Ocean Cruises
Member Image S_MN_Warmth_Seekers
3 reviews
Sep 2015
Was a combined boat tour, city tour and visit to Blue Mosque. Markets all closed due to Muslim holidays, this happens frequently. Interesting tour but no time for lunch, were starved to get back on ship 3pm. Found out later could have ducked out of carpet sale and ate at quick cafe across street.
Read S_MN_Warmth_Seekers's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image merwench
1 review
Sep 2015
Didn't realise everything we needed to see was within a short walk, the grand bazaar was better than expected and we bought the most amazing Turkish delight not what we expected. Hagria Sophia was probably my favourite, the blue mosque and Topaki Palace were really interesting as well, a trip to just Topaki Palace would be better as not enough time there.
Read merwench's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image rmescola@gmail.com
1 review
Aug 2015
WE all had headsets which were very nice, except mine did not work and there were no extras, so I heard little or nothing. The tour guide was Yasmin, and very nice, but there were so many people it was difficult to get close to her to hear.
Read rmescola@gmail.com's full MSC Magnifica cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image kc20202
1 review
Aug 2015
- we had a private tour booked here too - through Ephesus Shuttle. Our guide met us and was very good, very informative. No payment until the end of the tour, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them. Unfortunately we were there on a Friday so missed out on the Blue Mosque, but there's still plenty of other things to see. The tour operators can change their itinerary a little for you too, if you wish to see something different. For instance we went to Topkapi Palace and wanted to include the Harem section, which they did for us at a small extra cost to cover the tickets. The Grand Bazaar wasn't anywhere near as busy as I expected, and things were quite expensive. I didn't buy very much there at all.
Read kc20202's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Shuttle
Member Image Clive99
1 review
Aug 2015
Excellent stop but carpet demo unesassary and uncomfortable
Read Clive99's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Michael Dodd
1 review
Jun 2015
Some excellent history.
Read Michael Dodd's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kaf1sh
3 reviews
Jun 2015
A great way to get around Istanbul. Takes in all the sights and more...
Read kaf1sh's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Tigs2015
1 review
Jun 2015
Nazli was an excellent guide. She was very knowledgeable, intelligent, funny, speaks fluent English and willing to alter the tour to suit us. We walked all round Istanbul (she was very fit and fast!) after first getting a tram from the nearest stop into the centre and saw all the main sites which are a must. We went off the beaten track to see the older less touristy streets and mosques in the Golden Horn district, had a Turkish coffee on a roof top cafe with a wonderful view of the Bosphurous and strolled through the hip Karaköy Neighbourhood before getting back to the ship in plenty of time for an early sailing. Not the cheapest option but for 4 adults ($400 for 1 and 1/2 days tour from 0800-1700 then 0800-1200) it was worth every penny as we saw more of the real city at our own pace than we would have in a large cruise group tour. Would thoroughly recommend it and use Nazli again if we visit Istanbul.
Read Tigs2015's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: nazli zobranli
Member Image mermamasailsagain
1 review
Jun 2015
Busy day and too exhausted to go out in the evening and explore but excellent guide, good vehicle.
Read mermamasailsagain's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Furkan, Private Istanbul
Member Image hyker1
8 reviews
Jun 2015
Interesting, but I prefer smaller groups. Had to use the ear transmitter to hear the guide. The units were good and worked well, but the crowds in general lowered my enjoyment level. I mean the streets and sites we visited were absolutely PACKED with people.
Read hyker1's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image history professor
1 review
Jun 2015
Enjoyed contacting locals
Read history professor's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image hoopmd
1 review
May 2015
Daily Istanbul was great. Van was clean and driver exceptional. Lefit was our guide
Read hoopmd's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: daily Istanbul Tours
Member Image Forgetable
1 review
May 2015
Not enough time allowed for Grand Bazaar- which all the passengers were very disappoint
Read Forgetable's full Celestyal Crystal cruise review
Provider: Celestyal Cruises
Member Image seasoned60
1 review
May 2015
all is part of the tour. This was a bus tour that takes you part way and you walk the rest due to the narrow streets and way too much traffic. You will see walls built 200 bc.
Read seasoned60's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Sing-inn Cruisers
1 review
May 2015
We enjoyed all the attractions we visited at Istanbul and found it to be very clean. The guide was very knowledgeable and very caring. Well organised.
Read Sing-inn Cruisers's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image newsbob
2 reviews
May 2015
Istanbul was fabulous. The excursion covered all the usual tourist attractions, but that's what we came to see. If we had more than two days, we could have gone to the out-of-the-way spots. But that's not possible on a cruise. The excursion covered the Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar, Spice Market, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace, the Underground Cistern, and a cruise on the Bosphorus, all in one-and-a-half days. Plus a sales pitch at a Turkish rug store. (We bought one, the prices were unbelievably low.) But we didn't feel rushed. It was well worth it.
Read newsbob's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image garywarry
1 review
May 2015
Very interesting but part of a very long 2 day trip and exhausting
Read garywarry's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image john muircroft
1 review
Apr 2015
although very expensive ... was a great 2 day trip ..... very disorganised the first day loading the buses and the stair well was full of too many people trying to disembark......
Read john muircroft's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image swissyrescue
1 review
Not Rated
Oct 2014

We took a city tour that we loved. Small tour (max 10 people -- 8 attended our tour) that took us into the back streets of Istanbul to experience the local areas and truly local food (no tourists present). It included a ride on the Bosphorus, a walk through the local fish market, true Turkish coffee experience, etc. Absolutely loved it.

Read swissyrescue's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Oceania Cruises
Member Image *angel*
2 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2014

The time wasn't long enough so much to see and plenty of people.

Read *angel*'s full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image HeinBloed
15 reviews
Not Rated
Jan 2014

Again we booked only a guide with Epehesus Deluxe. The first day we had also a car and driver but 2nd day we took the tram. First day was for Topkapi-Palace and Spice Market. Was nice but 2nd day with Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Cistern, Grand Bazaar and the visit on the top of the roofs around the Grand Bazaar like James Bond 007 Skyfall was unbeatable. The end of the tour took us by the new commuter train to the Asian side and back on the ferry with the sunset on Istanbul's skyline.

Read HeinBloed's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image EQUALIZER555
3 reviews
Sep 2013

Got the bus at the gate of the port. 20 each, traffic was terrible the bus kept stopping every few feet.Eventually we arrived at a big square where we were told, not too nicely, that we had to change to another bus, that was at the far side of the square.This bus moved fairly quickly, I think he was making up time lost by the first bus.This bus went down the same street a few times, and we passed the same football ground three times.As bus tours go I have had better.

Read EQUALIZER555's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?