Become a Cruise Insider
Tips, deals and more in your inbox.
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Istanbul Blue Mosque Excursion Reviews

Istanbul Blue Mosque cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Istanbul's iconic Blue Mosque, built in the 17th century, unofficially gets its name from the thousands of handmade blue tiles within. Its vast dome is an incredible spectacle.
Member Image JessMama
1 review
Jul 2015
Another long line, but entering this picturesque place was worth the wait in the heat, and then covering up shoulders, knees, and head.
Read JessMama's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions
Member Image podo59
1 review
Jul 2015
Our tour guide, Yousef, met us at the dock. We were then picked up and taken to the Hippodrome where we began our tour which included the Sultan Ahmed Mosque (Blue Mosque), the Basilica Cistern (fantastic), and the Hagia Sophia. Yousef spoke English very well and was informative, but was not the most enthusiastic tour guide I have ever had. We were satisfied with the experience, however, and would recommend this company.
Read podo59's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Effendi Travel
Member Image dukerev
2 reviews
Jul 2015
We arrived in Istanbul the day after Ramadan. The Grand Bazaar was closed (never fear, there are other shopping opportunities). While our guide was knowledgable, we suspect he may have been hung-over. He did take us (as requested) to the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, and Underground Cistern, and was professional, he was far from enthusiastic. Frankly, the stunning beauty of the city and the sights we visited were more than enough to make up for his lack of enthusiasm. Istanbul is an amazing city. I could easily spend a week or more there in the future. The people were delightful (in a city of 15 million!), many spoke English (a plus for us American tourists), the food was incredible, the architecture is amazing, and all-in-all Istanbul is fairly inexpensive, particularly for a city its size. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!
Read dukerev's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Viator
Member Image intraweb
2 reviews
Jul 2015
amazing city but really no need to do a tour just go to bizarre and blue mosque
Read intraweb's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ClareV
1 review
Jun 2015
Beautiful city where HUGE is an understatement !!!!
Read ClareV's full MSC Magnifica cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image mgoudoras
1 review
Jun 2015
Make sure you dress appropriately with covered knees, shoulders and bring a large scarf for your head because otherwise they will give you one before you enter.
Read mgoudoras's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Latina55
1 review
Jun 2015
my favorite port of call, we did ourselves, jus hre a transfer from cruise port to Sultanhamet back and for.Just amazing!!!, you dont need a tour, just made your research with time.
Read Latina55's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kaf1sh
2 reviews
Jun 2015
Worth a visit. Majestic and beautiful.
Read kaf1sh's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Tigs2015
1 review
Jun 2015
One of the main sights to see but not our favourite. Expected wonderful tiles on display but too far away to see anything properly, got very crowded and the smell of tourist feet was overwhelming in the waiting queue!
Read Tigs2015's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: nazlı zobranlı
Member Image hyker1
7 reviews
Jun 2015
Women must dress modest and cover their heads. Lines were long the entire time in Istanbul and I thought our group was way too large.
Read hyker1's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image history professor
1 review
Jun 2015
All went well as expected
Read history professor's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image hoopmd
1 review
May 2015
FANTASTIC, excellent English and time sensitive. Showed us everything we wanted to see and introduced us to Turkish Culture. We ate excellent food
Read hoopmd's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Daily Istanbul tours
Member Image Forgetable
1 review
May 2015
Tour was very good, the Tour guide upset most of passengers with his arrogant attitude
Read Forgetable's full Louis Cristal cruise review
Provider: Celestyal Cruises
Member Image Sandygram
1 review
May 2015
beautiful but one of our party got lost and we had to wait until she appeared
Read Sandygram's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image LCJones629
1 review
May 2015
This was just OK. I would anyone about going on tour that is going to take you to a Turkish Rug maker, so that you can avoid the high pressure sales pitch. Ugh!
Read LCJones629's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Travel Bound
Member Image seasoned60
1 review
May 2015
This is impressive and not to be missed. Please dress properly or you will be provided with modest cloth covering. Respect signs and realize you are in a religious place.
Read seasoned60's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image garywarry
1 review
May 2015
Very interesting but part of a very long 2 day trip and exhausting
Read garywarry's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Cruise-vacation2015
1 review
May 2015
Very big and very powerful place! A must visit. Scarves are required inside so be prepared but they do have some to borrow if you forgot! Beautiful tiling inside
Read Cruise-vacation2015's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image JoeMama#1
1 review
Apr 2015
A private guide took us through the city and the sights. I learned that guides have "connections" with retail services and restaurants that benefit them and I need to be aware of that in the future. No insult to the guide, a wonderful guide.
Read JoeMama#1's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Meander
Member Image adriaan1969
1 review
Apr 2015
It is really nice to visit Istanbul and its historic buildings and town. A must see is the Blue Mosque and a spice market. Istanbul is really busy but a friendly town however there are more an more Moslim rules for people nowadays.
Read adriaan1969's full Azamara Journey cruise review
Provider: Azamara Club Cruises
Member Image wherestheship
2 reviews
Apr 2015
This is a really nice building but the significance to me as a Christian was to be able to visit such a beautiful building and one of the biggest Mosques, and to be able to better appreciate other beliefs.
Read wherestheship's full MSC Magnifica cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image HimAndMeGoCruising
2 reviews
Apr 2015
The tour was quick and seemed rushed. The Blue Mosque is beautiful, but you have the feeling that all of the Mosques in the city would be equally beautiful but tourists have been isolated to this Mosque. Either there isn't much to point out inside the Mosque or our guide was not that interested. Entry is free on your own anyway.
Read HimAndMeGoCruising's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Stormgirl2014
1 review
Sep 2014
Amazing to see, very exciting for my older children!
Read Stormgirl2014's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Cruising excursions
Member Image Stanley Cruiser
3 reviews
Sep 2014

Blue Mosque - crowded.

Read Stanley Cruiser's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image *angel*
2 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2014

The Mosque is such a magnificent building,

Read *angel*'s full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image SOFIKO
1 review
Aug 2014

Monument only of religiour interest.

Read SOFIKO's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image RogerW
1 review
Jul 2014

Once you are inside this magnificent building and look up at some 20000 tiles its an awe inspiring view.The upper levels of the interior are dominated by blue paint. More than 200 stained glass windows with intricate designs admit natural light, today assisted by chandeliers. Look at the carpet, its now manufactured by machines, but was once hand made. You will be asked to remove your foot wear (Plastic bags are available to put you foot wear in), ladies will be given scarfs to cover their heard and will also be asked to cover their legs if not wearing jeans etc.. Its something you must visit to truly feel the atmosphere and wonder at the history of the building

Read RogerW's full Riviera cruise review
Provider: Cruiseexcursions.com
Member Image cosmics
1 review
Jun 2014

Tour guide good didn't see Blue Mosque as Friday and closed in morning for Prayers.

Very busy place good architecture and mosques interesting visually.

Was hounded by every single store and market trader if they didn't do this they would be more successful as a result bought nothing to stressful

Read cosmics's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image canuck1669
1 review
Apr 2014

Architecture and history are amazing. A must see.

Read canuck1669's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursions
Member Image Graham K
2 reviews
Nov 2013

Helter skelter sprinter tour guide didn't understand the word asthematic, so spoilt somewhat. Too little time, and really quite small inside, smaller than you'd imagine.

Read Graham K's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image CondorX2
1 review
Sep 2013

It was OK.. did not see much, it was over crowded, and it was a Friday, not a good day for a visit.

Read CondorX2's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image bjrose
2 reviews
Sep 2013

After hearing so much about the Blue Mosque, I was disappointed. The people there were very rude and really didn't want us. The building itself was interesting but so was San Marcos with the beautiful mosaics in Venice! Don't bother, people.

Read bjrose's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Shuttle
Member Image Mrs.JSparrow
1 review
Sep 2013

Over-rated, lines extremely long and you only spend about 10 min as we were rushed by mosque staff as it was almost prayer time. This could be skipped as it a typical of a mosque just on a larger scale. Bring head scarf as now it is mandatory for all women to keep head covered. Carpet extremely plush inside so your not stepping on bare floors(shoes have to be off).

Read Mrs.JSparrow's full Celebrity Reflection cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image sueajp
4 reviews
Sep 2013

I learned so much about Muslim culture due to our great guide Murat. Ladies, bring head covering! I had a scarf and the ship said it was not necessary but it is! They also threw a shawl over my short sleeve shirt. You also remove your shoes but Princess gave you a bag for them as well as a tote bag. Much appreciated. Istanbul was very crowded so stick with your guide!

Read sueajp's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image prinsjh
2 reviews
Not Rated
Sep 2013

Very crowded. Bring a scarf you can cover your head and wear socks so your feet are covered entering the mosque.

Read prinsjh's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Surfari1
1 review
Aug 2013

Dilek was knowledgeable and very helpful and tolerant!

beautiful mosque!

Read Surfari1's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image sea pup
2 reviews
Aug 2013

Naturally had lots of people at the same time which made it very hot inside. The Mosque is amazing however.

Read sea pup's full Thomson Celebration cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Cruise XYZ
7 reviews
Jul 2013

A favorite place. Like to feel the softness of the carpet underneath my feet.

Read Cruise XYZ's full Royal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image rongoldner
1 review
May 2013

Beautiful. Facts were interesting.

Read rongoldner's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image EIslander
1 review
Mar 2013
Such a beautiful mosque. Definitely see this in Istanbul.
Read EIslander's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Pezzy
1 review
Feb 2013
Need to take your shoes off while in the Mosque. All carpeted. Beautiful inside
Read Pezzy's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image DURSEYGIRL
2 reviews
Not Rated
Feb 2013
It was a good tour.
Read DURSEYGIRL's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image barrymx5
1 review
Nov 2012
Read barrymx5's full Aurora cruise review
Provider: P&O Cruises
Member Image sadied
2 reviews
Not Rated
Oct 2012
need an audio guide/
Read sadied's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Kallisto
1 review
Oct 2012
Beautiful building with nice tiles and painted windows. A bit smelling inside because you have to remove your shoes and walk on you're socks... Here again: long lines and too many people inside (looks like a bee hive).
Read Kallisto's full Costa Favolosa cruise review
Provider: Costa Cruises
Member Image JemIB66
5 reviews
Oct 2012
An awe-inspiring and imposing building. Definitely worth a visit. Mosque staff were very helpful with facilitating access for our disabled daughter. it does get very crowded though
Read JemIB66's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image kangarooboy
6 reviews
Oct 2012
Another "must see" in Istanbul. An imposing building internally & externally.
Read kangarooboy's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image Annalise
8 reviews
Sep 2012

The Blue Mosque was unbelievable. Ladies must have shoulders & knees covered & they're not kidding! We were surrounded by blue tiles of swirls,flowers,tulips tinted by sun through the stained glass. It will probably be the only time you see something as unique as this.

Read Annalise's full Ruby Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image jabbathehutte
1 review
Sep 2012
Long queues but worth the wait.
Read jabbathehutte's full Queen Elizabeth cruise review
Provider: Cunard Line
Member Image Boston Traveler 24
1 review
Member Image Boston Traveler 24
1 review
Not Rated
Sep 2012
Read Boston Traveler 24's full Crystal Serenity cruise review
Provider: Crystal Cruises
Member Image FePerk
3 reviews
Sep 2012
Istanbul: We took the "Ottoman Treasures" excursion, which was excellent. The Blue Mosque is beautiful, as is the Tokapi Palace. We had plenty of time at the Grand Bazaar to shop. Crowd control at the Tokapi Palace is terrible - it was my sole "Ugly American" moment on the cruise when I chewed out some young adults for jumping the long line waiting to see the jewel collection. Exercise patience in Istanbul.... Overall it was a great excursion - highly recommended. Recommendation: Don't try to do Istanbul on your own. Some fellow passengers tried and had a miserable time, given the traffic congestion.
Read FePerk's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image klitz
1 review
Sep 2012
Big hollow building built >1,000 years after the Hagia Sophia.
Read klitz's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image cloverfields
1 review
Aug 2012
Had to queue to get in for about 15 mins in the heat which somewhat spoils the treat when you feel faint. However once inside you see just how beautiful it all is and how well preserved, the blue tiles are beautiful. You have to take your shoes off and carry them around in a bag. I had taken a shawl for my bare shoulders otherwise they give you something to cover up. Not sure I would go back again but glad I have been.
Read cloverfields's full Thomson Celebration cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Jazzacat
1 review
Aug 2012
Simply stunning - it takes your breath away.
Read Jazzacat's full Thomson Celebration cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image rossgregg
2 reviews
Aug 2012
Beautiful. But very crowded. Would love to visit during prayer.
Read rossgregg's full Nieuw Amsterdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image Crui$erCT
2 reviews
Jul 2012
The lines to enter were huge, but admission was free. But, the wait was worth it! The cavernous blue interior is a sight to behold. Ladies, be sure to have your shoulders/head covered, and know that you will all have to remove your shoes. Our tour guide didn't really give us any exciting information or preface to the site...
Read Crui$erCT's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: ephesustours.biz
Member Image wismergirl
4 reviews
Jul 2012
While visiting the Blue Mosque, we had to cover our hair and shoulders using our scarves. The mosque provided big squares of covering for those who didn't bring their own. We had to take our shoes off and put them in a plastic bag at the entrance. We had to carry the shoes ourselves while we're in the mosque. The Blue Mosque has 6 minarets and inside the Mosque one could see beautiful Iznik tiles in different shades of blue.
Read wismergirl's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Ephesus Shuttle
Member Image World Gallery
12 reviews
Jun 2012
Beautiful place. Highly recommend. The line to get in moves very fast. You need to cover your head with a scarf.
Read World Gallery's full Norwegian Spirit cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Artteacher
2 reviews
Jun 2012
Very pretty, the tile work (of course) is the reason to explore this site. Interesting perspective on the conversion from Christianity to Islam.
Read Artteacher's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image baillie
1 review
May 2012
See this site in the morning...why? The smell of foot Oder will not be as bad. But beautiful building
Read baillie's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Twinmum
3 reviews
May 2012
This was a good tour to try to gain a small understanding of Turkish culture. The Mosque is beautiful and well worth the visit.
Read Twinmum's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image msupovitz
1 review
May 2012

a

Read msupovitz's full Celebrity Equinox cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Peter Wise
1 review
Apr 2012
Fascinating to see this. Again very busy, but at least you were given a bag for your shoes instead of having to leave them outside. Not able to spend a great deal of time inside because of the long queues of people waiting to get in. I'm glad I went, but wouldn't want to repeat the visit
Read Peter Wise's full Seven Seas Voyager cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image oldcajun
1 review
Apr 2012
On this tour, we were scheduled to visit the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, and the Grand Bazaar. Although our tour guide was outstanding, the traffic made it impossible to spend any time at the Grand Bazaar. The tour was rated as easy walking, but there were several people in our tour group that could not keep up and returned to the bus.
Read oldcajun's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.