Cozumel Dolphin Swim & Encounter Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Dolphin Swim & Encounter cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Cozumel's dolphin programs bring cruisers up close and personal with the affectionate creatures. Enjoy interacting with the dolphins as you become one with their habitat.
Member Image galina11
1 review
Apr 2017
unforgettable, but bring cash or credit card with you to purchase photos, they don't allow you take your own but you'll definitely would want some after your experience
Read galina11's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Sonicross
1 review
Apr 2017
The time with the dolphins were great, the lack of time to snorkel as suggested in the description, the lack of ability to take any pictures or video without purchasing them from the encounter for $120, and the lack of information to know that you would need to bring money for pictures, video, and lockers ahead of time is inexcusable.
Read Sonicross's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image abell87
1 review
Apr 2017
We got to swim with, pet, kiss and be pushed and pulled by a dolphin! It was an amazing experience that I would definitely pay to do again!
Read abell87's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Paca Lady
1 review
Apr 2017
This was the highlight of our cruise! Being able to be in the water, interact with, and take a swim with a dolphin was the experience of a lifetime. This tour also included lunch and beverages. Be aware that no cameras are allowed, but they do take wonderful photos (at a cost of $29 a piece) and the photos capture those once in a lifetime moments.
Read Paca Lady's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jeff8970
1 review
Apr 2017
We did the Dolphin Push, Pull, and Swim shore excursion which we booked through Royal Caribbean. The price we paid (~$115 pp) was much cheaper than other dolphin swims I have seen and afterwards I realized why. Be expected to be herded like cattle to the park with at least 50 other people. Be prepared to spend 2+ hours waiting to interact with a dolphin for 20 minutes. The actual interactions that we had with the dolphins once in the water were fun and the trainers are decent and engaging. Why do I mention extortion in the title? Because this place tries to charge an exorbitant about of money for the photos that they take during your experience. We were quoted at $200 for our photos of 2 people. Considering we booked the excursion for barely more than that, their pricing model is bait and switch. And they won't let you take cameras into the water so there's no way around it. I was so appalled at this that we walked out of the gift shop and left the complex. Royal Caribbean should be ashamed that they even book through a place that tries to swindle money from people like this.
Read jeff8970's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mama28
1 review
Apr 2017
Unorganized, overcrowded, not clean, (due to amount of people!) The staff there tried their best at Dolphin experience, but the whole day was awful & exhausting. again, no one listened when we returned, a phone call about telling management. NOT WORTH IT.
Read mama28's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Jenypede
1 review
Apr 2017
The dolphin swim was a must. We were with a dolphin that had a baby within the month and got to swim with both of them. Couldn't touch the baby which was fine. The people were really nice and spent the rest of the day on the beach there. They had a little beach and the only other way into the water was by stairs which had rocks on the ocean front. Didn't expect that but the water was clear. Being this time of year the water temp was kind of cold. The taxi driver there and back was very nice. Everything was planned nicely but the cruise ship
Read Jenypede's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image EffieJean
1 review
Apr 2017
Absolutely amazing. I really enjoyed the park and most of all getting to get in the water with a dolphin and get up close and personal. I can't say enough good things about this encounter, it's a must if you go to Cozumel.
Read EffieJean's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image On a Cloudy Day
1 review
Apr 2017
Really good trainer and dolphin experience. The pictures are way too expensive and should be offered as an email as well as a printed photo. Food here wasn't all that good either.
Read On a Cloudy Day's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Skullgirl
1 review
Apr 2017
Spent half the day at Dolphinarius. After our dolphin swim, open bar and food. No time limit. Snorkeling was great! Big stingrays, starfish and lots of pretty fish. Roped off from the ocean so you feel really safe. Dolphins were great, pictures are expensive but very well done.
Read Skullgirl's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Packerkay
1 review
Mar 2017
Typical dolphin excursion. Photos ridiculously expensive. Water very cold so be prepared. Good place to do other things such as snorkeling and boarding etc.
Read Packerkay's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mnichol1
1 review
Mar 2017
OMG it was amazing. We chose the foot push and dorcel swim which came with the manatee encounter as well as free lunch and taxi back to the port. To purchase pictures was a ripoff, but who doesn't want their pics from this experience? They was originally asked $140 for the pics and we paid $100 for both my husbands and mine.
Read mnichol1's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursioneers
Member Image musiccity2008
1 review
Mar 2017
Very disappointed. Be aware, that you must have someone 21 or over go on the trip. Our two 17 year olds were denied when we got to the dock. RCCL took the reservation in their name, took the money, and issued tickets but when we got to the dock they were told they couldn't go. We eventually worked it out with my wife going (ruining our plans for the day) and she said that the "park" that you go to is pretty sparse. We've been to other parks like Xcaret and were impressed, but this park wasn't really that good. The girls enjoyed the encounter with the dolphins, but other activities at the park were limited and disappointing.
Read musiccity2008's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image DarkJedi
1 review
Mar 2017
Did the SCUBA with dolphins event. This was excellent as it was wife's first time doing SCUBA. Spent some time in the swimming area learning the equipment and then swam to the dolphin area, dove with the dolphins and then swam back. Excellent encounter.
Read DarkJedi's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Dolphin Discovery
Member Image Harley Deuce
1 review
Mar 2017
Great adventure. Danced with the Dolphin, swam with it while holding it's fins, and kissed it. 40 minutes with the Dolphin in the water with a group of ten. Pictures are expensive at the end - about $20 a photo.
Read Harley Deuce's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Sun4Me2Please
2 reviews
Mar 2017
A great venue with more to do than the Dolphin Swim and Encounter. Food was ok, drinks good and staff very friendly. The price for pictures was a bit high, but another great excursion that we would return to :)
Read Sun4Me2Please's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image wheresmybartender
1 review
Mar 2017
Do the V.I.P. very worth the cost. 8 people in our group. very personal. You get the dolphin swim. lunch. lockers. towels. unlimited drinks. infinity pool. snorkel all included. Very worth the money. Will do again if we ever visit again.
Read wheresmybartender's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image savmar2
3 reviews
Feb 2017
Great experience in the water. Trainers very knowledgeable. Buffet was not good. Pictures were way overpriced.
Read savmar2's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image djosephii
1 review
Feb 2017
Dolphinaris was amazing get the VIP package it is well worth it. Picture package was good as well.
Read djosephii's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image UAVPilot
1 review
Feb 2017
One item off the bucket list. Had a great time and the water was refreshing. One concern was the price of photos...$35 per photo is a ripoff.
Read UAVPilot's full Carnival Triumph cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image cogsworth
1 review
Feb 2017
The Dolphin Encounter was great. I think the value was good for what we experienced.
Read cogsworth's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ginnydu
1 review
Jan 2017
Great experience. Very well trained dolphins.
Read ginnydu's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kaymartian
1 review
Jan 2017
What a great experience. The dolphins were fantastic. What a memorable day. The buffet that followed was impressive as well. One of our overall favorite excursions ever.
Read kaymartian's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sewut
2 reviews
Jan 2017
We got to "dance" with the dolphins, kiss them and interact with them. The pictures were good, but way too expensive.
Read sewut's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jodygirl73
1 review
Jan 2017
Chankanaab Dolphin Swim, Push, Pull and Buffet Lunch. This is the third time I've gone to Chankanaab for the dolphin swim. I love the park and it's absolutely the best place to do a dolphin swim. If you have a bucket list item where you want to swim with dolphins, this is the place to do it! We know many people who have done it various other places and everybody agrees that Chankanaab is the absolute best place to do this. The buffet lunch was not good but drinks were included. It was enough to tide you over until you got back on the ship. Allow yourself to explore the park after your swim, it's a beautiful destination in itself.
Read jodygirl73's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?