Cozumel Dolphin Swim & Encounter Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Dolphin Swim & Encounter cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Cozumel's dolphin programs bring cruisers up close and personal with the affectionate creatures. Enjoy interacting with the dolphins as you become one with their habitat.
Member Image blazeplacid
1 review
Jun 2017
The best part of the cruise! The staff is above the rest.
Read blazeplacid's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Tbird58
2 reviews
May 2017
It was great! We had amazing time with the dolphins, manatees and the sea lion show. We took a taxi to Chankanaab lagoon and spent the day. Since we booked on our own, we had more flexibility and less crowds. A definite fun adventure to do.
Read Tbird58's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Dolphin Discovery
Member Image maggiegittings
1 review
May 2017
to much time spent on waiting not able to do other things that were included. very disappointing.
Read maggiegittings's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image MrsKC08
4 reviews
May 2017
Best day of the entire week!
Read MrsKC08's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image CRUISING574
1 review
May 2017
The dolphin and the trainer were excellent. The food and picture purchase were very poorly done. The food was inedible and i did not purchase the pictures due to the poor treatment by the employees at Dolphinaris. Something really needs to be done about how they treat guests. I was referred to as stupid and was I even able to pay attention to it can be done correctly, when in fact we were misguided by a different Dolphinaris employee. Not only did we not purchase the pictures, I missed on having that photo op of my son with the dolphin.
Read CRUISING574's full Carnival Dream cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image dmhibbert
1 review
May 2017
Cozumel was a favorite stop. Swimming with the dolphins was the best excursion I've ever been on!!
Read dmhibbert's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image harrywalshx
1 review
May 2017
Great experience, the trainers were very knowledgeable and taught us a lot about the dolphins, food and drink was included and we purchased the photo and DVD package which was a bit expensive at $140
Read harrywalshx's full MSC Divina cruise review
Provider: MSC Cruises
Member Image Jeannette70
1 review
Apr 2017
Fun and different. Hands on fun with dolphins, with separate experience snorkeling to see rays and other tropical fish. Had a delicious meal after which made the whole excursion very memorable.
Read Jeannette70's full Carnival Triumph cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image blonde33c
1 review
Apr 2017
This excursion was amazing. Dolphins seem very happy and enjoy working with their trainers and people.
Read blonde33c's full Carnival Glory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Marie S
1 review
Apr 2017
Very disorganized. The excursion also listed a beach break, and we were never taken to the beach.
Read Marie S's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Rainbowgayle
1 review
Apr 2017
the most wonderful of all ... the belly ride was more an what we had expected. reasonable priced ... open bar and buffet was included
Read Rainbowgayle's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image galina11
1 review
Apr 2017
unforgettable, but bring cash or credit card with you to purchase photos, they don't allow you take your own but you'll definitely would want some after your experience
Read galina11's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Maraugha
1 review
Apr 2017
The "Dolphin Push & Pull" encounter to be exact. Well it was raining so one would think that could ruin an experience. This was far to incredible to let a little rain spoil what was to be something I'll never forget as long as I live. In the water with a mammal so intelligent and playful, really! Powerfully pushed through the water as the dolphin nuzzles the bottom of your extended foot with its nose, what! Wading in a lagoon to have this playful life come up from behind to have you grab hold of its flippers and tote you as if it's the most delightful part of its day, no words. Unequivocally the most astounding animal experience I've had rain or shine in my life. Up close and personal doesn't even begin to relate on how you become quickly attached to such an amazing aquatic mammal. The staff is informative and professional and very accommodating to every age bracket. Then to top it off time in the water with the ever so seemingly lazy manatee. You'll never get this State side people, the ability to personally caress a manatee. If you have callouses this 120 grit behemoth will smooth your hands as they glide along the meandering giant. As the manatee reaches its head from the water to feed you see the face of a precious mammal worthy of the protection it's granted. Ok maybe the downside is the so so lunch provided in the ramshackle cafeteria but is that really what we came for anyway, I think not. Eat little and drink the alcoholic beverages are on the house so to speak. So kick back and reminisce your experience as one never to be forgotten. Oh lest me not forget, there is an area further back in the park where you can test various types of TEQUILA! Not only knock back a few but actually learn the distinct differences of the Tequila family it was extremely informative with a side order of heartburn. That clear tequila can leave a mark proceed with caution. Altogether our time rain or not was a complete blast from one experience to the next. CAUTION: be ready to drop your shorts when they tell you the price of pictures
Read Maraugha's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Sonicross
1 review
Apr 2017
The time with the dolphins were great, the lack of time to snorkel as suggested in the description, the lack of ability to take any pictures or video without purchasing them from the encounter for $120, and the lack of information to know that you would need to bring money for pictures, video, and lockers ahead of time is inexcusable.
Read Sonicross's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image abell87
1 review
Apr 2017
We got to swim with, pet, kiss and be pushed and pulled by a dolphin! It was an amazing experience that I would definitely pay to do again!
Read abell87's full Navigator of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Paca Lady
1 review
Apr 2017
This was the highlight of our cruise! Being able to be in the water, interact with, and take a swim with a dolphin was the experience of a lifetime. This tour also included lunch and beverages. Be aware that no cameras are allowed, but they do take wonderful photos (at a cost of $29 a piece) and the photos capture those once in a lifetime moments.
Read Paca Lady's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image jeff8970
1 review
Apr 2017
We did the Dolphin Push, Pull, and Swim shore excursion which we booked through Royal Caribbean. The price we paid (~$115 pp) was much cheaper than other dolphin swims I have seen and afterwards I realized why. Be expected to be herded like cattle to the park with at least 50 other people. Be prepared to spend 2+ hours waiting to interact with a dolphin for 20 minutes. The actual interactions that we had with the dolphins once in the water were fun and the trainers are decent and engaging. Why do I mention extortion in the title? Because this place tries to charge an exorbitant about of money for the photos that they take during your experience. We were quoted at $200 for our photos of 2 people. Considering we booked the excursion for barely more than that, their pricing model is bait and switch. And they won't let you take cameras into the water so there's no way around it. I was so appalled at this that we walked out of the gift shop and left the complex. Royal Caribbean should be ashamed that they even book through a place that tries to swindle money from people like this.
Read jeff8970's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mama28
1 review
Apr 2017
Unorganized, overcrowded, not clean, (due to amount of people!) The staff there tried their best at Dolphin experience, but the whole day was awful & exhausting. again, no one listened when we returned, a phone call about telling management. NOT WORTH IT.
Read mama28's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Jenypede
1 review
Apr 2017
The dolphin swim was a must. We were with a dolphin that had a baby within the month and got to swim with both of them. Couldn't touch the baby which was fine. The people were really nice and spent the rest of the day on the beach there. They had a little beach and the only other way into the water was by stairs which had rocks on the ocean front. Didn't expect that but the water was clear. Being this time of year the water temp was kind of cold. The taxi driver there and back was very nice. Everything was planned nicely but the cruise ship
Read Jenypede's full Brilliance of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image EffieJean
1 review
Apr 2017
Absolutely amazing. I really enjoyed the park and most of all getting to get in the water with a dolphin and get up close and personal. I can't say enough good things about this encounter, it's a must if you go to Cozumel.
Read EffieJean's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image On a Cloudy Day
1 review
Apr 2017
Really good trainer and dolphin experience. The pictures are way too expensive and should be offered as an email as well as a printed photo. Food here wasn't all that good either.
Read On a Cloudy Day's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Skullgirl
1 review
Apr 2017
Spent half the day at Dolphinarius. After our dolphin swim, open bar and food. No time limit. Snorkeling was great! Big stingrays, starfish and lots of pretty fish. Roped off from the ocean so you feel really safe. Dolphins were great, pictures are expensive but very well done.
Read Skullgirl's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image Packerkay
1 review
Mar 2017
Typical dolphin excursion. Photos ridiculously expensive. Water very cold so be prepared. Good place to do other things such as snorkeling and boarding etc.
Read Packerkay's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mnichol1
1 review
Mar 2017
OMG it was amazing. We chose the foot push and dorcel swim which came with the manatee encounter as well as free lunch and taxi back to the port. To purchase pictures was a ripoff, but who doesn't want their pics from this experience? They was originally asked $140 for the pics and we paid $100 for both my husbands and mine.
Read mnichol1's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursioneers
Member Image musiccity2008
1 review
Mar 2017
Very disappointed. Be aware, that you must have someone 21 or over go on the trip. Our two 17 year olds were denied when we got to the dock. RCCL took the reservation in their name, took the money, and issued tickets but when we got to the dock they were told they couldn't go. We eventually worked it out with my wife going (ruining our plans for the day) and she said that the "park" that you go to is pretty sparse. We've been to other parks like Xcaret and were impressed, but this park wasn't really that good. The girls enjoyed the encounter with the dolphins, but other activities at the park were limited and disappointing.
Read musiccity2008's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?