Cozumel Dolphin Swim & Encounter Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Dolphin Swim & Encounter cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Cozumel's dolphin programs bring cruisers up close and personal with the affectionate creatures. Enjoy interacting with the dolphins as you become one with their habitat.
Member Image execsec
3 reviews
Jan 2017
awesome experience...well worth money. Book direct from their website...they often have deals.
Read execsec's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Chankanaab Park
Member Image seacruiserVA
1 review
Jan 2017
Great service and experience. We did the Encounter - loved getting to kiss, dance with, and pet the dolphin. The team was friendly and upbeat. I appreciated that we got access to the rest of the park: a (very nice) private beach, a small inlet where we could wade in the water, and overall scenic area. Beautiful crystal clear blue water and lots of fish in the water to see if you swim or snorkel. The staff was professional and helped explained everything to us. Felt safe and secure the entire time.
Read seacruiserVA's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image funCruise3
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Prebooked and paid for half the price on our own was the absolute highlight of our cruise. Stay clear of the photos spiel as it was too expensive!
Read funCruise3's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Dolphin Encounter
Member Image ndimare
1 review
Dec 2016
Great interaction with the dolphins. Diego the tour guide was great, he did a great job! The place is great to spend the day. After the dolphin activity you can stay at the beach, do some water sports, walk around and see the place, see the Sea Lions show, etc.
Read ndimare's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Dolphin Discovery (at Chankanaab Beach park)
Member Image cande91357
1 review
Dec 2016
Very very very very good! Best excursion of our trip. We got to pet the dolphins! Very nice
Read cande91357's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image KSand24
1 review
Dec 2016
This was a "bucket list" item for some members of our group. We had done dolphin experiences before, so the experience was exactly what we expected. It included transportation to and from the site, and our particular excursion included food from the buffet. The food was fine--not awesome, but nothing to complain about either. The dolphin experience itself was wonderful. Be aware that not all experiences are the same. We chose the "Royal Swim," which is the most immersive and comprehensive of all dolphin experiences offered because it includes the "foot push" where 2 dolphins "superman" you out of the water. There were plenty of picture-perfect moments (dolphin kisses!). However, you could tell the scheduling at the site was a little off, as our whole group pet the manatee in the water (with three different trainers rotating through our group) for approximately the same amount of time as we spent with the dolphins. It was obvious we were in a holding pattern for dolphins/trainers/a specific pool to become available even though we had scheduled through the cruise ship in advance. So we didn't get the amount of free time in the park to use the pool as we would have liked. Be aware that purchasing photos here is on the expensive side. I believe it was $35 per photo? Or alternatively, $50 per person for a disc with all photos from the experience. Absolutely no outside cameras or photos from observers. So if you want photos for a family of four, you're looking at another $150, at least.
Read KSand24's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image mmlamberson
1 review
Dec 2016
Loved the dolphins but staff at park was uncaring when my son had a bad reaction to plant life growing on the fence along the platform they have you standing on.
Read mmlamberson's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image JulieWhite
1 review
Dec 2016
Dolphin swim was great!
Read JulieWhite's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mbebergal
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Enjoyed the dolphins and manatee, but $240.00 for picture package is outrageous and food included in the Royal package was dreadful. Bad hamburgers with stale buns; undercooked pork tacos and nacho chips with cheese sauce. Not great food.
Read mbebergal's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image preilly1515
1 review
Dec 2016
The tour was very interesting. Probably better suited for the younger kids. My kids of 15, 18 and 22 and would have rathered snorkeled. I enjoyed the morning very much.
Read preilly1515's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image DexterM
1 review
Dec 2016
Amazing once in a lifetime experience. They do not allow you to take pictures of your own but the CD with about 40 pictures was $60 and you can download them to your phone immediately with their app.
Read DexterM's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image HANDERSON
2 reviews
Dec 2016
The seal show, manatees, and dolphin swim was great!
Read HANDERSON's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mariedwest
1 review
Dec 2016
Had multiple interactions with a dolphin in small group of 4. Kissed, shook hands, rode on it's tummy. Great experience
Read mariedwest's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image cdevelis
1 review
Dec 2016
They charged $14 US to rent a tiny locker and $7 US to rent a towel. NCL refunded my $14. The experience was great, the facility very good.
Read cdevelis's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ZekeC5
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Brenda did a great job with our group. Swimming and interacting with these amazing creatures was awesome! Learned how they are able to train to interact with us - their tricks and performance with us was second to none...don't miss the swim (not encounter).
Read ZekeC5's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image shackpacker
3 reviews
Nov 2016
We did the VIP dolphin experience. Good food & drinks, private group area, small group, & extra time with the dolphins
Read shackpacker's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image Sandypl
1 review
Nov 2016
Good exprience, but very expensives. They were well organized, but it was annoying to wait for transportation and than wait again to swim with the dolphins. We lost about 1 hour, just waiting around,
Read Sandypl's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mikea2017
1 review
Nov 2016
kids enjoyed riding the dolphin and petting it
Read mikea2017's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image MADDS
1 review
Nov 2016
Very enjoyable and much fun - Interesting enough the place charges $75 for 3 photos - we did not see anyone purchasing their photos. The business would do much better if they would sell the photos for a reasonable amount
Read MADDS's full Seven Seas Mariner cruise review
Provider: Regent Seven Seas Cruises
Member Image Ericinlngbeachny
2 reviews
Nov 2016
it was a great time but expensive. We did the dolphins, Manatee and see lion encounters . It was a full day and it was fun but the photos are an absolute ripoff and are negotiable but we decided against purchasing the pictures
Read Ericinlngbeachny's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: dolphin discovery
Member Image Toni Reams
1 review
Oct 2016
Was so much fun! I would have loved to be able to swim with the dolphins interact a lil more . I like how they had a safe snorkel area was fun
Read Toni Reams's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image alexis.owens1
1 review
Oct 2016
Loved the dolphins. I was a little bummed that they do not allow personal cameras, you have to purchase their photos (3 for $75). The food and drinks were great afterwards, and the trainers were very informative.
Read alexis.owens1's full Disney Fantasy cruise review
Provider: Disney Cruise Line
Member Image Phaynes1
1 review
Oct 2016
This was at Chankanaab park. Due to the time of day (2:15pm) and package I chose (Royal swim), I was the only participant and had two dolphins all to myself. I appreciated that even though it was only me they didn't try to get me to change to another time which I wouldn't have been able to do because I had to get back to the ship. My package through the tour company even included a free lunch buffet. I live in Florida and have never been that close to a Dolphin. The package included several things such as holding onto the dorsal fins and being towed, they want to make sure each guest has the best experience possible so if one of the activities wasn't as good as it could have been, they did it again with to make sure I got the best experience.
Read Phaynes1's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: http://cozumel-tours.com
Member Image jefftberg
1 review
Oct 2016
On Cozumel we visited the Dolphinarium and swam with Dolphins. The price of the excursion was OK, but be prepared to take out a second mortgage to buy pictures or a video of your encounter. INSIDE TIP: Even if you want a lot of pictures, just tell them you want to buy a few. They will offer you a discount to bus more. Another oddity of this place was the different Dolphin related activities. It was very confusing to figure out exactly what you got to do with the dolphins for a particular price. It seemed like every group in the pools did something different. Just make sure you buck up for whatever package allows you to SWIM WITH / ride the dolphins (as opposed to just petting them). It's worth it. Also included in this package was a buffet lunch, unlimited drinks with & without alcohol, snorkeling in an enclosed area with lots of fish, and kayaking / paddle boarding in open water.
Read jefftberg's full Liberty of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image johndlay
2 reviews
Oct 2016
Fun, but pictures are expensive
Read johndlay's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?