Cozumel Dolphin Swim & Encounter Excursion Reviews

Cozumel Dolphin Swim & Encounter cruise excursion
Overall Rating
Cozumel's dolphin programs bring cruisers up close and personal with the affectionate creatures. Enjoy interacting with the dolphins as you become one with their habitat.
Member Image djosephii
1 review
Feb 2017
Dolphinaris was amazing get the VIP package it is well worth it. Picture package was good as well.
Read djosephii's full Carnival Victory cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image cogsworth
1 review
Feb 2017
The Dolphin Encounter was great. I think the value was good for what we experienced.
Read cogsworth's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image ginnydu
1 review
Jan 2017
Great experience. Very well trained dolphins.
Read ginnydu's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image kaymartian
1 review
Jan 2017
What a great experience. The dolphins were fantastic. What a memorable day. The buffet that followed was impressive as well. One of our overall favorite excursions ever.
Read kaymartian's full Harmony of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image sewut
2 reviews
Jan 2017
We got to "dance" with the dolphins, kiss them and interact with them. The pictures were good, but way too expensive.
Read sewut's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jodygirl73
1 review
Jan 2017
Chankanaab Dolphin Swim, Push, Pull and Buffet Lunch. This is the third time I've gone to Chankanaab for the dolphin swim. I love the park and it's absolutely the best place to do a dolphin swim. If you have a bucket list item where you want to swim with dolphins, this is the place to do it! We know many people who have done it various other places and everybody agrees that Chankanaab is the absolute best place to do this. The buffet lunch was not good but drinks were included. It was enough to tide you over until you got back on the ship. Allow yourself to explore the park after your swim, it's a beautiful destination in itself.
Read jodygirl73's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image jkfrlf
1 review
Jan 2017
This was our first time to swim with the dolphins! It was so much fun and very educational as well! We will defintely do this again!
Read jkfrlf's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image msladybuggg
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Dolphin Encounter with unlimited food and drink was worth it. Drinks were good and the food was amazing. The trainers were professional and the facility was clean and natural looking. Everyone got a turn to do multiple things with the dolphins. Normally your able to also snorkel and check out the sting rays but unfortunately Cozumel had turbulent waters and we couldn't but I would to do this excursion again worth the money. Side note you can not take pics but they do and the purchase price starts at $30 a pic up into the hundreds.
Read msladybuggg's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image mccallum1367
1 review
Jan 2017
This tour was a fantastic experience of swimming with dolphins, and meeting manatees. There was a fun little sea lion show later and there was so much other stuff to do at this location. could have spent the whole day there. Bring your wallet though because no photos allowed in the dolphin area and their pictures are very pricey.
Read mccallum1367's full Regal Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image coffeeNcruise
1 review
Jan 2017
Our family had manatee and dolphin encounters. We arrived early - and since our group was smaller we had ample time in the water with the animals. The gouge on the photos is annoying - but what is one to do ? The food at the "cafe" restaurant directly next to the entrance was average.
Read coffeeNcruise's full Rhapsody of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image asilbey
2 reviews
Jan 2017
We went to Dolphinarus and the excursion was awesome! Small groups of 6 went with a trainer and we each got to 'kiss' the dolphin, shake hands, give it a belly rub and hang onto its fins while he pulled us for a short ride. The food and drinks were mediocre-drinks were watered down and the Mexican food was fine but no guac which I was disappointed about.
Read asilbey's full Carnival Paradise cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image execsec
3 reviews
Jan 2017
awesome experience...well worth money. Book direct from their website...they often have deals.
Read execsec's full Carnival Vista cruise review
Provider: Chankanaab Park
Member Image seacruiserVA
1 review
Jan 2017
Great service and experience. We did the Encounter - loved getting to kiss, dance with, and pet the dolphin. The team was friendly and upbeat. I appreciated that we got access to the rest of the park: a (very nice) private beach, a small inlet where we could wade in the water, and overall scenic area. Beautiful crystal clear blue water and lots of fish in the water to see if you swim or snorkel. The staff was professional and helped explained everything to us. Felt safe and secure the entire time.
Read seacruiserVA's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image kaylawisniewski
1 review
Jan 2017
Did the dolphin push, pull, and swim and Chankanaab National Park. We read many reviews between Chankanaab and Dolphinaris and chose Chankanaab based on the reviews and because the dolphin swim was in the actual ocean and not just in a pool. Would highy recommend this excursion, not only because the dolphins were awesome, but because there was a lot included.
Read kaylawisniewski's full Carnival Magic cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image funCruise3
2 reviews
Jan 2017
Prebooked and paid for half the price on our own was the absolute highlight of our cruise. Stay clear of the photos spiel as it was too expensive!
Read funCruise3's full Norwegian Getaway cruise review
Provider: Dolphin Encounter
Member Image ndimare
1 review
Dec 2016
Great interaction with the dolphins. Diego the tour guide was great, he did a great job! The place is great to spend the day. After the dolphin activity you can stay at the beach, do some water sports, walk around and see the place, see the Sea Lions show, etc.
Read ndimare's full Independence of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Dolphin Discovery (at Chankanaab Beach park)
Member Image cande91357
1 review
Dec 2016
Very very very very good! Best excursion of our trip. We got to pet the dolphins! Very nice
Read cande91357's full Empress of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image KSand24
1 review
Dec 2016
This was a "bucket list" item for some members of our group. We had done dolphin experiences before, so the experience was exactly what we expected. It included transportation to and from the site, and our particular excursion included food from the buffet. The food was fine--not awesome, but nothing to complain about either. The dolphin experience itself was wonderful. Be aware that not all experiences are the same. We chose the "Royal Swim," which is the most immersive and comprehensive of all dolphin experiences offered because it includes the "foot push" where 2 dolphins "superman" you out of the water. There were plenty of picture-perfect moments (dolphin kisses!). However, you could tell the scheduling at the site was a little off, as our whole group pet the manatee in the water (with three different trainers rotating through our group) for approximately the same amount of time as we spent with the dolphins. It was obvious we were in a holding pattern for dolphins/trainers/a specific pool to become available even though we had scheduled through the cruise ship in advance. So we didn't get the amount of free time in the park to use the pool as we would have liked. Be aware that purchasing photos here is on the expensive side. I believe it was $35 per photo? Or alternatively, $50 per person for a disc with all photos from the experience. Absolutely no outside cameras or photos from observers. So if you want photos for a family of four, you're looking at another $150, at least.
Read KSand24's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Line
Member Image mmlamberson
1 review
Dec 2016
Loved the dolphins but staff at park was uncaring when my son had a bad reaction to plant life growing on the fence along the platform they have you standing on.
Read mmlamberson's full Freedom of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image JulieWhite
1 review
Dec 2016
Dolphin swim was great!
Read JulieWhite's full Norwegian Epic cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image mbebergal
2 reviews
Dec 2016
Enjoyed the dolphins and manatee, but $240.00 for picture package is outrageous and food included in the Royal package was dreadful. Bad hamburgers with stale buns; undercooked pork tacos and nacho chips with cheese sauce. Not great food.
Read mbebergal's full Oasis of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image preilly1515
1 review
Dec 2016
The tour was very interesting. Probably better suited for the younger kids. My kids of 15, 18 and 22 and would have rathered snorkeled. I enjoyed the morning very much.
Read preilly1515's full Norwegian Dawn cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image DexterM
1 review
Dec 2016
Amazing once in a lifetime experience. They do not allow you to take pictures of your own but the CD with about 40 pictures was $60 and you can download them to your phone immediately with their app.
Read DexterM's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image HANDERSON
2 reviews
Dec 2016
The seal show, manatees, and dolphin swim was great!
Read HANDERSON's full Allure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image mariedwest
1 review
Dec 2016
Had multiple interactions with a dolphin in small group of 4. Kissed, shook hands, rode on it's tummy. Great experience
Read mariedwest's full Norwegian Jade cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line

Sponsored links

Share feedback
Thank you!  Cruise Critic values your feedback.
How can we improve this page?