Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Aruba Island Tour Excursion Reviews

Aruba Island Tour cruise excursion
Overall Rating
From its rich, layered heritage to its duty-free shops and stunning beaches, find out why Aruba is called “One Happy Island” on an island tour.
Member Image rolanduzer
4 reviews
Nov 2014

The cruise line actually gave us 1/2 our money back because everyone on the tour complained to the excursion desk. The tour was useless, and we left an hour late because we had to wait on a large family who couldn't seem to show up on time.

Read rolanduzer's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Stadtzuercherin
1 review
Oct 2014

not worth the money

Read Stadtzuercherin's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image GaNewSeniors
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2014

beautiful

Read GaNewSeniors's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image jamily65
1 review
May 2014

Aruba was nice and we did not book the tour on the ship. As you are getting off the ship you will find tons of people offering tours. We found a guy doing them for $15 a person and we were gone for 4 hours. We went to the lighthouse, the "Stonehenge" area on the island, the Aloe factory all through the higher end of the island and got to go to Palm beach for two hours. A tour similar on the ship would have been 70.00. My kids were very surprised at how desolate the island was. You will see tons of cactus and dirt. Very little grass is on the island and there is only one cow on the entire island. The beaches are beautiful but do not expect a plush, tropical flowered island or you will be disappointed.

Read jamily65's full Carnival Liberty cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Tamking
1 review
Not Rated
Apr 2014

Sonny Binns tours in Aruba, very interesting. He has a air conditioned van, clean, comfortable and he is entertaining. He has a mic on him so you are able to hear him clearly well he drives you around city. He takes you to so every interesting places that you would not see on just any tour. Port pick up and drop off. Loved this tour!!!

Read Tamking's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Sonny Binns
Member Image beatcop49
2 reviews
Not Rated
Mar 2014

Probably our favorite port. Our plans were to shop a bit, then go to a beach. Shopping took a little longer than expected, so we opted to take a 2 hour island tour on an open air party bus. It was 20 US per person. Made several stops, including a bathroom/snack break at a local convenience store. The bus stopped at California Lighthouse and Palm Beach, if you wanted to swim...beautiful, stark white, powdery sandy beach. We were pushed for time at this point, so we skipped the beach. Still, a nice way to see the island. It surprised me as to how arid a climate Aruba has....I was expecting a lush, green tropical setting...not so. Its very dry. Reminds me of Arizona surrounded by the ocean.

If you are shopping for jewelry or watches, I recommend Sean Jewelers, https://www.facebook.com/seanpauljewelers ....ask anyone where it is. Very good prices and service...By the way, I get no kickback. They're just good people.

Read beatcop49's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Angel Tours, Party Bus
Member Image barbadosbeachbum
2 reviews
Not Rated
Mar 2014

Had an awesome with our guide Carlos who was a laugh a minute and always laughing, joking, and giving us a little insight about Aruba. The church and it's grounds were interesting, the town was alright and the beach was lovely. There was plenty of beachtime, and a lot of crazy and silly fun with our maracas and the locals who were fun enough to give us a wave as the crazy tourists went by hollering and shaking their maracas. Lots of fun for a family with kids and those who are young at heart!

Read barbadosbeachbum's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image hopeful2
1 review
Not Rated
Mar 2014

p and outside there were buses for tours. We took a tour for $20.00 each it took us around and then dropped us off the beach then we got picked up and back to ship

Read hopeful2's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image delvendo4
1 review
Not Rated
Mar 2014

We just paid $20/pp when we got off boat to tour guide...he took us on a/c bus all around island & told us all about it. Stopped 3 places / took photos then went to a beach for 2 hrs before shopping going back to boat.

Read delvendo4's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image singelsethc
5 reviews
Dec 2013

We did a tour, Island Highlights. We went to some natural formations and a lighthouse, which for the price I thought was a waste of time. The local guide did his best but overall was pretty disappointed. First stop was to Baby Natural Bridge, which is the smaller of 2 natural bridges. Natural rock bridge. The larger bridge washed away 2 wks earlier. There were black rocks there, probably from volcano that were strewn around. And a very small walkway near dangerous tides coming in. Not much to see. Then we visit a rock garden, which was kinda neat and you can walk up to a platform and take pictures. This was the only bathroom break on tour, and like the gross bathroom you find at a gas station in the middle of nowhere. There was no soap! You'd be smart to bring tissue before you leave. Apparently Aruba produces water from the ocean, so it's costly and they charge you for the toilet. Next stop is Lighthouse, and 2 mos ago somebody jumped from the top and now noone can go up and take pictures! I picked this tour because I thought it would be good for pictures, but not real good if highest point of the island (lighthouse) you cannot access for that. Then we have a beach break which was cut short 30 minutes! I can only guess because of their busy schedule that day, even though we paid for more time. Rushed was not real enjoyable. The beach was great too, calm and perfect weather. If you want you can take a taxi or bus back to pier, which seemed pretty accessible because there's major hotels in walking distance. I bought a coffee cup in town. I forgot that the light ones are crap, they're a sand composite. There was better shopping in the terminal. I complained about our tour. There were similar tours, and all of them say "photo opp" for lighthouse. What point is there to go even if it some historical building if you can't go in. Therefore we sat there for 10 minutes, and no worthy pics. The woman at the tour desk was basically saying oh well it's a small island so I'm sorry Maam perhaps there's not much to see. But not tell you about changes to what's available so you can be ripped off $110. There was also a large national park in town, which seemed very interesting.

Read singelsethc's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Travelgrandma10
5 reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2013

As usual, this company did an excellent job. We had a good guide and saw the highlights of the island. I highly recommend Shore Excursion Group.

Read Travelgrandma10's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Shore Excursion Group
Member Image TXranchgal
2 reviews
Not Rated
Dec 2013

Wonderful overview of the Island of Aruba. Sonny was the guide and he told us interesting tidbits of history, culture, cost of living there etc. I would highly recommend Sonny Binns Tours.

Read TXranchgal's full Explorer of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Sonny Binns
Member Image miniflea
4 reviews
Not Rated
Nov 2013

My favorite stop of the tour, and one I didn't want to leave. Incredibly beautiful island with some awesome beaches. We booked a private tour of the island through HF Tours, which gave us a driver and guide for the 5 of us for the day to take us where ever we wanted, all for $65/pp. We absolutely loved it. We stopped at Phillip's Animal Garden to tour the sanctuary, went to the donkey preserve, drove to natural bridge, and made a few other stops along the way. We got to see quite a bit of the island, and didn't have to deal with the normal tour stops where they're trying to push expensive trinkets on you. Our guide was very helpful in pointing out places that were overpriced and places we could get the same items far cheaper at. I can't say enough about HF Tours and Aruba in general. It's at the top of my list of places I want to go back to visit.

Read miniflea's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: HF Tours
Member Image JWYBLF
1 review
Nov 2013

perfunctory tour leading to the tour guide's favorite shops. skip this in favor of private tours where the guide is more interested in giving you a history and geography lesson about their island.

Read JWYBLF's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Deetour
1 review
Oct 2013

Area is surrounded by beautiful water but the island was disappointing. I was surprised that it was full of cactus and dry.

Read Deetour's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Cruising Honeys
3 reviews
Aug 2013

The tour was exceptional. Our tour guide and bus driver 'Uncle Ben" was not only very informative but was a comedian! We not only had a great tour of the island and the different area. He made you want to come back and stay longer on HIS island.

Read Cruising Honeys's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image RavensFans1120
1 review
Aug 2013

So so so so beautiful. We took a tour with someone by the port it was $15 per person and he took us all around the island to see it. I was so surprised by the fact that in the middle of the island away from the beach it is like a desert. Catus and rocks were everywhere. I would have loved to gone snorkeling here but you had to go out by a catameran the beaches were too busy with boats to see anything. Also I talked to another couple who said the water was cloudy where they went out snorkeling.

Read RavensFans1120's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image robbull1966
1 review
Jun 2013

Aruba was the next and last port to visit. The downside is that this was the fourth port to visit in four days. Docking closer to the downtown area than that of Curacao, walking to the smaller shopping district is easy. Aruba is also clean and safe to get around in. Our only tour of the ports was here in Aruba. Starting with a tour of the Island we saw the natural bridge formations on the far side of the island, one smaller bridge that is still intact, and a much larger bridge that collapsed back a few years ago. The guide showed us cashew fruit where the nut grows outside of the fruit. A stop at the California lighthouse preceded an hour long stay at Eagle beach. Aruba is noted for its long, white sandy beaches and warm, clear water. While amazing to swim in and enjoy, what they dont tell you is that Aruba is very windy, similar to experience in Maui. The trade winds blow strong all day, billowing up the sand and causing some small swells in the water. The beaches also dont have any coral so there is very limited fish and sealife to see underwater. Still, the beach and water is amazing to play in. Shopping around the port is a fraction of what was experienced in Curacao.

Read robbull1966's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image BLR67
1 review
Not Rated
Jun 2013

Basically a private tour throughout the island (the other group cancelled due to illness). The tour guides were great, would highly recommend this company.

Read BLR67's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: TRIKES ARUBA
Member Image larry_kak
4 reviews
Jun 2013

We booked the Best of Aruba with the ship. Good tour for a decent price.

Read larry_kak's full Jewel of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image terrycoles
1 review
May 2013

The tour guide was comical, bilingual and a joy to listen to. We gave us much information on his homeland including tidbits such as the cost of living, etc.

Read terrycoles's full Horizon cruise review
Provider: Pullmantur
Member Image jrayborn
1 review
Apr 2013
Very nice friendly island. Looks like they are building alot of new buildings in the downtown area. Enjoyed the island tour and would recommend taking one if you are ever there.
Read jrayborn's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: EL Tours
Member Image sloopie1
2 reviews
Not Rated
Apr 2013
We originally planned just to spend time shopping and at the last minute, climbed aboard this bus. What a blast! Saw tons of "stuff" off the beaten path and on the main sightseeing tours as well at only $20 per person. Still had time to shop when we returned to the dock.
Read sloopie1's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Yellow Banana Bus
Member Image Beth Myers
1 review
Mar 2013
We did the See and Sea tour, and Maira was our guide. She was wonderful--very interesting and very fun to be around. This tour goes in a semi-submersible so that you can see the fish. That was cool! Then, you go to the lighthouse, which has a beautiful restaurant that overlooks the ocean as well as goats and pretty lizards. Yep! I can't believe I just called a lizard pretty, but they have turquoise coloring, and they are kind of cute. Then, we saw a natural bridge, which was lovely. Then, we climbed the steps to be on top of some rocks that overlook part of the island, which provided a lovely view. There are a lot of cactus, so it was interesting. FYI, we did not see this, but Maira mentioned that boa constrictors are an invasive species on the island.
Read Beth Myers's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image dalmuti
1 review
Mar 2013
The Best of Aruba Tour was pretty much what we expected of it. The drive gave good information in English and Spanish as we hit the major tourist spots on the island. The amount of time spent in each was appropriate although other groups came through the aloe factory at the same time as we did and that made the line at the gift shop take a long time so we did feel rushed there. The bus was comfortable and you could eat and drink on it. There were stands at several of the stops where you could get water, beer, snacks, or raspaos, so it was definitely nice to be able to enjoy those on the bus since the stops were pretty short.
Read dalmuti's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image ftworthinternational
1 review
Mar 2013
For $10 a piece, it was pretty good
Read ftworthinternational's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: No idea
Member Image jrowland
5 reviews
Mar 2013
Nice general bus tour with stop at butterfly farm
Read jrowland's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image jefft5301
2 reviews
Mar 2013
Sonny did a wonderful job of showing us his island. From the rock formations to the Indian carvings, Sonny showed us things I'm not sure we would have otherwise seen. We finished the day at the Lighthouse where Sonny joined in with other locals to help cut up some fresh coconuts and let us sample this surprisingly fleshly fruit. Hats off to Sonny!
Read jefft5301's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Sonny Binn
Member Image kurziemom
1 review
Feb 2013
We were tired and a woman with a tour bus approached us with a deal of $15 pp for an island tour. We visited the lighthouse and the rock formations. Honestly, it was a great deal, simply because we were tired and it was a nice ride. She was knowledgeable about the island, and the economy of the island. I truly enjoyed that-
Read kurziemom's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Saltwaterfan901
1 review
Feb 2013
Excellent tour in a clean and comfortable bus with an enjoyable guide.
Read Saltwaterfan901's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Sonny Binns
Member Image xLibLabLady
3 reviews
Feb 2013
Ship shore excursion:"Sea and See" (Ship shore excursion) Quick review: excellent tour guide named Gwen who spoke very clearly, informatively and was entertaining too; a so-so ride on a semi-submersible boat, very fair, equitable way of off-loading the bus (alternate sides getting off first at stops), and good stops. Naturally the stops could have been longer. Too much time for the boat part. The tour began with a visit to the California lighthouse. We were readily able to fulfill the requirements of the virtual cache there by taking a picture of me with GPS in hand, and the lighthouse in the background. Then came the drive to the Palm Beach resort for the first of two boat rides, one to take us to the semi-submersible boat, and of course the ride on the semi-submersible boat. We were there over an hour. About half that would have been fine, I think. To our surprise, the water was kind of murky, there were not all that many fish. The story about the ship was kind of interesting, it had been brought from Germany with the captain choosing to stay in Aruba rather than go back for the war. Next came the drive to the Casibari Rocks. Here we were able to "find" the Casibari - Hooiberg earth cache. We only had 20 minutes here. People were given the option of climbing the stairs to the top of the rocks, or not. Of course Jerry and I did it. Parts of the trail and steps up were uneven, and at one point involved bending and fitting through a short tunnel. It was pretty neat, actually. On top there are fantastic views all around. The way down was definitely down. Long, steep steps, but again really great. Last stop on the tour was the Natural Bridge. This is where the largest stone arch had collapsed in 2005, and now there is still what they call the Baby Natural Bridge. We found the location and took a picture of me with GPS in hand, and the bridge in the background. At both the California Lighthouse and here there had also been caches with containers, but there definitely was not enough time to search for them while on the bus tour. We got to see in the distance an abandoned gold smelter: the Bushiribana ruins. The tour did not stop there, which was too bad. Back at the ship, Jerry and I had a late lunch, then eventfully did a little shopping in the souvenir shop. We walked int town a little. We agreed it was too late to go look for a cache.
Read xLibLabLady's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image ChocolateZen
2 reviews
Feb 2013
We picked up a bus tour off the dock, too many people, not enough time as the locations, very impersonal.
Read ChocolateZen's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image tntfox
1 review
Feb 2013
One of the members on our roll call arranged a tour of Aruba with Sonny Binns which was outstanding. There were only 8 of us on the tour. We stopped at a gift shop, a natural bridge and various local spots. He also took us all over the island and did a narrative which was very informative and answered any questions we had about the island. At the end Sonny will drop you off at the beach, the shopping area, or take you back to the ship. We opted to do a little shopping. We were very impressed with Sonny and would recommend him to anyone.
Read tntfox's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Sonny Binns' Tours
Member Image bled01
1 review
Feb 2013
Did a private 3 hour tour with Bully who had been recommended several times on the Aruba board. Bully was great and took us to all of the key things to see in Aruba. We would recommend him to anyone that wants a more private tour of Aruba
Read bled01's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Bully Taxi Tours
Member Image David
21 reviews
Feb 2013

For this cruise we took advantage of an opportunity to join a privately organized tour of the "other side of Aruba," with rugged coastline and interesting rock formations that reminded me more of the Antrim Coast in Northern Ireland than a deep southern Caribbean island with a dessert climate (except for the cactus). The tour itself was quite interesting and allowed us to see the remains of the Natural Bridge and the Lighthouse, among other sights before we were dropped off in town to do a little shopping before walking back to the ship.

Read David's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image awinte2
2 reviews
Feb 2013
Enjoyed the tour. Aruba has a lot more money than most islands so it is cleaner. Beaches are very white and clean. Very commercial island.
Read awinte2's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image MWcruiser
1 review
Not Rated
Feb 2013
Aruba -- we rented 3 wheeled motorcycle liked vehicles from Trikes-Aruba and did a 3 hour tour of the island. It was AWESOME! My husband loved driving and I loved riding and sight seeing. What a way to experience Aruba's coast, historic sights and towns! There are only 3 trikes for rent and the tour leader drives a jeep. Best tour we have ever done in the Caribbean. Strongly recommended-reserve early.
Read MWcruiser's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Trikes-Aruba
Member Image fun_one
4 reviews
Feb 2013
3 hour tour around the island - very informative and fun
Read fun_one's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image seattlefam
1 review
Feb 2013
Tour guide took us around Aruba by bus, very funny and informative guy. He took us to see the Aloe Balm Facility (fascinating), Ayo Rock Formations, California Lighthouse, the one and only single cow on the island (!), and Palm and Eagle Beaches. He told us all about Dutch citizenship and education and the island's push to become first to achieve fossil-fuel-free status. Our family were the only English speakers, the guide spoke many languages to accommodate the entire group.
Read seattlefam's full Grandeur of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Royal Caribbean International
Member Image BubbaIU
3 reviews
Feb 2013
Booked right in the terminal area. Went all over the Island in a very flexible and enjoyable pace. Stopped many times to highlight plants and picture opportunities. Beaches were white sand, resorts were nice, California Lighthouse is not functional but Govt of Aruba is going to renovate it. Shopping right outside the port is fantastic. Very safe and secure.
Read BubbaIU's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image plastic2244
1 review
Feb 2013
We caught their Carnival Wow
Read plastic2244's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image dan7667
1 review
Feb 2013
Tour was fun but way overpriced. Aruba's beach is pretty, but overly crowded and not at all peaceful. The rest of Aruba is a cactus filled desert. Not a very pretty island.
Read dan7667's full Carnival Breeze cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image Lover1Boy
1 review
Feb 2013
Bus tour. Average.
Read Lover1Boy's full Tere Moana cruise review
Provider: Paul Gauguin Cruises
Member Image Catlade
1 review
Jan 2013
Fun experience but did not learn anything about the island.
Read Catlade's full Adventure of the Seas cruise review
Provider: Trikes-Aruba
Member Image blueboro
5 reviews
Jan 2013
I highly recommend Mr Binns. Very reasonably priced and nice mini-bus.
Read blueboro's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Sonny Binns
Member Image SeaScott
1 review
Jan 2013
Aruba (1/29/2013) Caribbean Princess We have been to about every island of the Caribbean multiple times except Aruba and it was an absolute delight and friendly island. The north side of Aruba is incredibly picturesque and offers many breathtaking view. For our amateur photographers like myself it was "click" heaven. I highly recommend Sonny Binns Tours (This is a private well known tour operator - he is all over cruise critic if you search his name) I was lucky enough to get on this tour courtesy of one of our Cruise Critic friends on this cruise who had room in her group. Here is the supplier's information: "SONNY BINNS TOURS". Cell: 297-592-6535 and 297-568-2028 Tour Cost $30 p/p for a brand new A/C bus that Sonny recently purchased (I believe it holds 24 people) and Sonny earns every bit of the tour price and is the essence of customer service.
Read SeaScott's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Sonny Binns Tours
Member Image paul8
20 reviews
Jan 2013
I took an Island Tour and was very impressed with the island. I sure would have liked to have spent more time here and visited some beaches. Maybe next time.
Read paul8's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image djtx2
2 reviews
Jan 2013
Did not take ships excursion. Took an island tour from a tour person right when we got off the ship. There were 12 in the group, was informative, took us to many beautiful places, stopped for photos. Was 2.5 hrs. for $20.00 US which was a bargin. Dropped you in town or at the beach. Would highly recommend.
Read djtx2's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Hazelnut1939
1 review
Jan 2013
Good overall. Gives idea of what is available on Aruba. Intesting town.
Read Hazelnut1939's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image lescas
2 reviews
Dec 2012
Took a party bus island tour, great people, nice tour, dropped off at eagle beach after two hours to swim, caught the local bus back to the ship. Great day.
Read lescas's full Caribbean Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image maachi
4 reviews
Dec 2012
Very Good Tour but overpriced for the value. $69 each was a bit steep
Read maachi's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Temperate
1 review
Dec 2012
This was the best excursion on our 10 day cruise but you won't find it mentioned through the cruise line. We looked on line for what other fellow travellers experienced as the best adventure in Aruba and found Tribes Aruba at www.trikes-aruba.com. Boy were they right! We had an absolute blast and would do it again in a flash. There were four of aged from 37 to 71 and we all agreed this was incredibly fun way to tour and see the island. We were up front and personal with the topography, flora and fauna, (amazing and huge cacti); sights (lighthouse etc.)and people of the island and it gave us a real flavour of what the island had to offer. It was very hot on the trikes, but, the wind mitigated the effects of the heat and we were very comfortable -- should wear suntan lotion however! Now to the trike -- which is a motorcycle with two back wheels. Things to consider before booking: know how to drive a standard car and /or motorcycle and you should adapt quickly. The manual transmission is a four speed stick shift with brake and clutch -- similar to a car. However the throttle is on the right handgrip. They provide you with clear instructions and a test drive before leaving on your tour. We toured for 3 l/2 hours, ending up with a ride through the city of Oranjestad that drew a lot of attention. People were taking pictures of us including tourists on tour buses so that was kind of a hoot. Our daughter has and rides a Harley and loved every moment of the experience! We had a blast and you should try it to -- you won't regret it! Thank you for the opportunity and experience!
Read Temperate's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image kcscrapper
1 review
Dec 2012
A huge thank you to Michelangelo and Floris for a wonderful, fun tour of the beautiful island of Aruba on the traffic-stopping trikes! And thank you, again, for being so kind as to wait for our ship's very late arrival! We had a great time. Learning to ride the trikes isn't difficult - though I'll admit to a learning curve with the throttle on the handlebars. I had one little mistake (that I thought had gone unseen), but our guardian, Floris, noticed and was positive about how I corrected it (remember all clutch, no gas)! So -- we were well watched over during the ride. Michelangelo was great about answering questions and sharing his knowledge of the history and culture of Aruba -- and wonderful for taking all the pictures! We recommend this tour highly -- not only for the very considerate operators, not only for the uniqueness of the mode of travel, but also for the total fun of it! We had a blast!
Read kcscrapper's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: Trikes Aruba!
Member Image Phoenix cruiser
3 reviews
Dec 2012
We got to see most of the highlights of Aruba. The excursion itself was good, there just isn't a lot to see on the island.
Read Phoenix cruiser's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image theperrys
1 review
Dec 2012
Did a wonderful tour of the island with private guide
Read theperrys's full MSC Poesia cruise review
Provider: Bubba
Member Image CWHF
1 review
Dec 2012
Took a taxi tour of the island. Not much to write home about.
Read CWHF's full Celebrity Eclipse cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image waltonflwonder
1 review
Nov 2012
did the See & Sea tour (not listed above???) good tour w/a good guide. guess only comment would be that the semi-sub should NOT be recommended for LARGE people or anyone w/any type of claustrophobia!
Read waltonflwonder's full Norwegian Sun cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image NGOrlando
2 reviews
Nov 2012
Aruba was beautiful. We went out and took a tour with a guy named Bill. Bill was very informative and overall a pleasant guy. We took a sightseeing tour of the Island. It costs us $20 each. It lasted 3 hours. Don't book with the cruise, it will cost you $55 per person.
Read NGOrlando's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Darshan1
10 reviews
Oct 2012
Our driver's sense of humor made this better than it could have been, but it was nice overall. Aruba is neither incredibly scenic in terms of lush beauty nor historically fascinating, but our driver's explanations of local architecture, customs, and legends make up for the fact that their natural bridge has crumbled and their famous church is about as impressive your average airport chapel. There are enough views of rocky coastline and unusual trees and plants that I'd recommend this tour to someone who wants to see what the arid, "non-lush" Caribbean looks like.
Read Darshan1's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Staplerman
4 reviews
May 2012
This was our first trip to Aruba, so we wanted to tour the island and get a good look at everything. Based on past Cruise Critic recommendations, I emailed Sonny Binns several months ago and booked his tour. All of our expectations for this trip were completely exceeded! Sonny did an outstanding job and his passion for his home island of Aruba shines through during the tour. We were in an air-conditioned 10-passenger van and were treated warmly from the time we met him in the terminal until we left him. Sonny truly went out of his way to point out items of interest and make everyone feel at home during the excursion. Aruba was not what we expected; in some places it actually looked like the southwestern United States but everywhere was very beautiful. The southern beaches are gorgeous, northern shore is windswept and rocky. We ate dinner at Iguana Joes right across from the ship and the food was excellent. Aruba was fantastic and we will definitely go back. If you want a great tour, book with Sonny and you won't be disappointed.
Read Staplerman's full Carnival Freedom cruise review
Provider: Sonny Binns Tours
Member Image mathduck
2 reviews
Apr 2012
The island of Aruba (http://www.cruisecritic.com/ports/newport.cfm?ID=2 ) has many tours. We thought about hopping aboard the Kukoo Kunuku party bus, going on the Balashi Brewery Tour, and finishing off by doing some shopping at the duty-frees. "4x4 ing" on the island also looked inviting. But, we settled on the Best of Aruba & Beach shore excursion as it would also leave us a couple of hours of power shopping. We got on the bus to start our Best of Aruba & Beach tour at 12:30pm. Our tour guide, Alex, was also our motor coach driver. We drove past the airport, Balashi brewery, and salinization plant. The plant takes ocean water and makes it drinkable and also produces the islands electricity. As this increased the price of potable water, there was usually a 50 cent charge to use a public washroom. Our first stop was at a rock formation which we climbed and had a view of the island. We purchased bottle water and bought a couple gifts -- nightgown and beach bag. Then bus drove past a cemetery with mausoleums that were brightly painted. Alex said that the last inhabitant were to be put at ease because the color was to match that of their house. Then headed to the arid side of the island (lots of cacti along the way) to see the land bridges, our second stop. Our third stop was the California lighthouse where had a $3 coconut with a straw. As we drove past the public beaches, there were a lot of tents. Apparently the locals come down to the ocean for two weeks as family groups to enjoy getting away from their normal living. The action on the island is at Palm Beach where the resorts are located and our final tour stop. We walked along the beach and found a couple of chairs to enjoy the sun and beach ambience before out hour was up. Many people on the tour including ourselves got off the bus on main street to do some power shopping. We were restricted as some of the shops were not open on Good Friday. First, we went to Effy jewellery. We got our free peridot coupon necklace and purchased the matching earrings for $10. Then, we went to the market and bought another nightgown, bag, souvenirs, and a matching "leopard" purse set. The market seemed to have the best prices. Before boarding the ship, I bought Oriens, a Van Cleef & Arpels parfum and Million, a Paco Rabanne eau de toilette, at Maggies in the cruise terminal because they were not on the cruise ship. Aruba was our favorite stop from the four ports we visited.
Read mathduck's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image alwaysckb
1 review
Apr 2012
Great small group tour. Very friendly guide, very knowledgeable and patient. My only issue is that we didn't get to the beach. We specifically asked about the beach through email, and he stated that we would definitely go swimming, but for some reason we never got around to it. We were disappointed about that glaring omission on our tour. Otherwise, very nice.
Read alwaysckb's full Westerdam cruise review
Provider: Sonny Binns
Member Image J Horn
1 review
Apr 2012
Took lots of Pictures all day
Read J Horn's full Thomson Dream cruise review
Provider: Thomson Cruises
Member Image Daisyloo
8 reviews
Apr 2012
Tour of island in a small bus. Tour guide was nice and told us all about his island. Saw natural bridge, lighthouse, nice scenery. Swam at beach that was nice white sand.
Read Daisyloo's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image curlygirly47
1 review
Apr 2012
toured the island with a local taxi driver who gave us the history and politics of the island
Read curlygirly47's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image bambam
4 reviews
Apr 2012
Well, it started out very badly, as ABC Tours made a timing mistake on our reservation, telling us 7:50 when the tour didnt start until 1000. After picking us up and delivering us to their store/shop, they admitted their mistake and gave us a private tour. We thought this was a fantabulous bit of customer service on their behalf. We had a fabulous tour that ended at Baby Beach, a relaxing beach great for wading in soft sand. Snorkeling wasn't too bad, but the rough water (reef protected) kicked up the sand, making picture taking a nightmare. Lots of fish to see, just not so clear water. Shopping was limited to the store near the pier.
Read bambam's full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: ABC Safari Tours
Member Image Got Tequila?
1 review
Apr 2012
We joined our cruise neighbors for an island tour and lucked into just the right guide. We were in an a beautiful airconditioned SUV, with leather seats for our island tour. We went to the light house, rock formations, and through a gated community where I picked out a beautiful 6 million dollar house as my dream vacation home.
Read Got Tequila?'s full Norwegian Star cruise review
Provider: Norwegian Cruise Line
Member Image Kenosha Cruiser
10 reviews
Apr 2012
Good informative driver, great beach, fun time.
Read Kenosha Cruiser's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image Jones
1 review
Mar 2012
Excellent. Well informed guide. Felt I knew something of this BEAUTIFUL island
Read Jones's full Emerald Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image 4774Papa
13 reviews
Mar 2012
The tour was not expensive and we saw quite a lot of the island, including the beautiful North shore where we saw the Alta Vista Chapel. The arid terrain has its own beauty, not unlike Arizona without the Saguaro. We saw the famous California lighthouse (not inside, it was closed) and saw many hotels and casinos. My sense is that Aruba is a great place for beautiful beach vacations with casinos and plenty of restaurants, but there is not much history to see on the island.
Read 4774Papa's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Live Life Large 24/7
2 reviews
Mar 2012
Grabbed a van..we each paid $25.oo and we saw the entire island and shopped.........very good value for your money!
Read Live Life Large 24/7's full Noordam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image ibxcruiser
1 review
Mar 2012
Good overall tour.
Read ibxcruiser's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image sunshine221
6 reviews
Mar 2012
We didn't quite know what to do, again we don't like beaches and we wanted to see the island. We selected the Natural Wonders tour. We started at a butterfly farm. The people there were great! We've been to other butterfly farms but the staff here were great "storytellers" and kept the group entertained. We went on to an aloe factory. The staff rushed the tour and took us through the factory and into the store -- we were told that there were videos in the downstairs and if there was no production, it probably would have been more interesting to see the videos. Finally we went to the side of an old stone bridge. It was pretty and it was amazing to see how much of a desert island Aruba is. After the excursion we walked around town for a while. We had a bit of a map but the sites were not well labeled. The stores near the port were typical.
Read sunshine221's full Carnival Miracle cruise review
Provider: Carnival Cruise Lines
Member Image feb0321
1 review
Mar 2012
A beautiful island well worth seeing !
Read feb0321's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image centerlinefl
1 review
Mar 2012
Sonny Binns in Aruba - awesome!! Can't say enough good things about him. Good information, on time, very pleasant, nice vehicle, super nice guy!
Read centerlinefl's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Sonny Binns
Member Image centerlinefl
1 review
Mar 2012
Sonny Binns in Aruba - awesome!! Can't say enough good things about him. Good information, on time, very pleasant, nice vehicle, super nice guy!
Read centerlinefl's full Island Princess cruise review
Provider: Sonny Binns
Member Image julenow
1 review
Mar 2012
Loved the entire experience at DePalm Island. Snorkeling was great in spite of slight rough waters, salsa lessons lots of fun and the food and drinks were terrific. Can't wait to do it again!
Read julenow's full Statendam cruise review
Provider: Holland America Line
Member Image ireview
1 review
Mar 2012
Comfortable bus, many stops and enough time to visit each venue appropriately. The tour included the Aloe Balm facility, the Butterfly Farm, the Natural Bridge and various other points of interest, all well worthwhile.
Read ireview's full Celebrity Summit cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Klloomis
1 review
Feb 2012
Not a bad excursion. Did an island tour and then the beach. Beaches are lovely.
Read Klloomis's full Grand Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image lagapeach
1 review
Feb 2012
Tour operator did not include the Natural Bridge area as a stop. Excuse was that the road was too bad. Make sure that all areas are included before you do independent tours.
Read lagapeach's full Crown Princess cruise review
Provider: Princess Cruises
Member Image ScotchMist
1 review
Feb 2012
Best of Aruba Tour ($39.75 ea through Celebrity) -- Pretty good, but not as advertised; did not go to gardens or advertised substitute (aloe factory); driver did narrating, which limited ability to respond to questions.
Read ScotchMist's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image RunAmuck
1 review
Feb 2012
If that was the Best of Aruba no one would go there. We went to a local nursery, a fallen natural bridge, a non-functional lighthouse,and a pile of boulders.
Read RunAmuck's full Celebrity Constellation cruise review
Provider: Celebrity Cruises
Member Image Fenix Newman
1 review
Dec 2011
Small bus which went where big buses couldn't go. Great fun.
Read Fenix Newman's full Zuiderdam cruise review
Provider: not known

Sponsored links

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.