Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Crown Princess Cruise Review by paul8: April 2,9, 16 2011 Caribbean Cruise


paul8
20 Reviews
Member Since 2008
3,872 Posts

Member Rating

Cabin 5.5
Dining 5.5
Embarkation 5.5
Enrichment Activities Not Rated
Entertainment 5.5
Family & Children Not Rated
Fitness & Recreation Not Rated
Public Rooms 5.5
Rates 5.5
Service 5.5
Shore Excursions Not Rated
Value for Money 5.5

Compare Prices on Crown Princess Western Caribbean Cruises

April 2,9, 16 2011 Caribbean Cruise

Sail Date: April 2011
Destination: Western Caribbean
Embarkation: Fort Lauderdale (Port Everglades)

WHY I TOOK THIS CRUISE

...I had a future cruise which I purchased on the Crown TA from London - NYC in September 2010. This cruise was for relation only, I had no intention to take shore excursions.

PRE-CRUISE FROM 3/31 - 4/1

Why the Holiday Inn Cruiseport

...I don't like to rent a car and have found this Holiday Inn both convenient to the cruise port and within walking distance of several malls, restaurants not to mention a Walgreens and several supermarkets for those last minute purchases. The rooms come also come with a mini refrigerator and microwave. The hotel is several blocks away from the Fort Lauderdale Sun Trolley that takes you downtown for $.50. I do not think any hotel is the best if that is what you are looking for.

Perks

...I was lucky this cruise with the perks I got for 100 shares of CCL stock and my DD214 military. This cruise cost me cabin, insurance, air fare, hotel and tips. Everything else was courtesy of Princess; More 10.50 tip per day, a shirt I bought, spa treatment, pictures, dvd's, and coke drinks. The 3rd and last week I had a credit of $360; Passenger Services said I either had to use it or lose it as Princess would not roll-over the balance to another cruise nor give me a refund.

Embarkation

...I took the 11:30am bus, there was a line when I got to the terminal, yet we moved quickly and would have been speedier had I followed directions. There were about 3 check-ins for each deck, the elite and platinum having their own check-ins.

Formal Night

...For me this consists of a tie, shirt, jacket, and slacks. It appears that the older crowd goes for dress up while the younger crowd for casual. Although I agree with the older crowd the work involved in dressing is not worth it. I wore a tuxedo once and do not feel the extra weight justifies the use. Besides, you can rent one from the ship.

Entertainment

...No question about it, the performers are talented but as one person I met at lunch put it "they do not compare to a Broadway Performance". However you get what you pay for. On the April 2-9 & 16-23 cruises there were about 800 kids each with younger adults while the April 9-16 cruise had about 200 kids and the adult age being older. A standing ovation on the 2nd cruise was given at all performances.

Safe (Personal) inside Cabin

...There was a safe in the cabin to store your valuables. You feel naked walking around the decks without your keys, wallet, passport, etc. As for the combination, I kept a copy of it on my laptop and forget I had it there the one time I needed it.

SPA (see perks above)

..I used the spa (see Perks above). This is always fun. It was scheduled for 8am and I thought I would be the only one there. Was I mistaken; this Spa thing is quite a business. I chose to take the message au-natural; why make it easier for them. When the message was finished the fun began. She told me that Sauna and the Steam Room will help me with my arthritis then tried to sell me this expensive stuff that that I would never use but I should get two anyway. I probably should have stopped her but this was part of the message treatment.

Sanctuary

..If it were possible to reserve this in advance I would have in a heartbeat. Several people in the Cruise Critic Roll Call mentioned they would take the Sanctuary as they were teachers or came into contact with school kids. I went to the Sanctuary on the 2nd day of my cruise and was told the Sanctuary is booked for the week (at $109) but for $20 for half a day I would have to come back in the morning or afternoon. This gave me time to think: was I really going to use this?

Grand Cayman - tender

...At the terminal there are private tours available in case you do not have one planned. At Margaritaville in The Island Plaza on the waterfront on Harbour Drive, take a right as you exit the pier, there is free Wi-Fi; I was told maybe the whole building is Wi-Fi. There also is a man who makes cigars; you can smoke them onboard but cannot bring any back to the states. Quite a few people smell the cigars for whatever reason I do not know; to me a cigar is to smoke not smell however I do not smoke? When I went ashore on the third week I noticed that at Cayside Galleries - Souvenir World (about a block from Margaritaville) there was free internet with a purchase.

Isle of Roatan Honduras - docked

...At the Meet and Greet Captain Nick Nash said the docking here was tricky; the wind must be from the East and sea conditions must be just right. We docked here the first week. The second week the wind was too strong at 8am but we managed to dock around 10am. The third week we did not make this port due to the weather. Private tours are available onshore for last minute cruisers. About the only thing here is the beach although there are other activities. At East Wind Electronics near the terminal there was high speed internet available - $5 for 15 minutes. The dock was within walking distance of the beach and the chair lifts; one can either walk to the beach or take the chair lift for a price (about $10).

Cozumel - docked

...Many private tours are available on the pier. After getting off the ship you take a right and immediately walk into a duty free shop. After exiting the shop there are various other shops one of which is called Cafe Punta del Cielo. Here Wi-Fi is available free, you provide the computer. Beverages are about $5 or less; best to get there early as the place is crowded and there are few seats. It is 3 miles to downtown; you can either take a $4 taxi or walk. To get back on the ship be sure to bring a picture id or passport with you. Princess told us but the other ports required showing your key card only. This port not only checks passports but also your cabin key. The Myan ruins tour takes about 8 hours; rather interesting but stressful. There is not much to the pier area and from what I hear not much to the city either.

Princess Cays - docked

..This is Princess Cruise Line's private beach; I did not go ashore here on any of the three cruises.

Sabatini's (Authentic Italian Cuisine)

..I did not eat here but was told the price was worth it; the only complaint being (if you call it that) they give you too much food.

Crown Grill

..I do not like specialty restaurants as I travel alone, it is difficult to get someone to eat with you and I do not like eating solo. However, I heard from various people that the food was good and worth the price.

International Cafe

..People say that the coffee is good here but I could not tell you as my taste buds burned out long ago. There are two things you should get; one is a coke card which comes in two versions and is valid for other drinks besides coke. The versions being kids and adults or cheap $49 and expensive $55; however to these prices is added a 15% gratuity. I chose the kids for it was cheaper and something I would use (however had I not had a credit to use I would not have purchased it). The other is the coffee card. This does not have an expiration date; is more or less valid for life and can be used on other Princess ships. You get about 15 punches for cafe au late etc. Your basic coffee, tea, and hot chocolate are free so that is what I chose. At the other end of the International Cafe are desserts, salads, and sandwiches. It is not a bad place to meet people either.

Cafe Caribe & Horizon Court

..These are the restaurants that do not require you to dress up and food is available 24/7. The 2nd night of the cruise I awoke at 1pm and did something I would never do at home and that is eat. At that hour the Horizon Court carries a limited menu but it solves the purpose.

Michealangelo Dining Room

...For the April 2, 9, and 16 cruises this was used for anytime or traditional dining.

Da Vinci Dining Room

...This was for anytime or traditional dining for all cruises as above. I had most of my meals here mainly because you are seated with other people and why serve yourself when you can be waited on as this service is included.

Bars, Clubs, and Lounges

...Various events are held here; other than that I did not visit these places as I do not drink or smoke.

Movies Under The Stars

..Shown here are various movies; the problem being that seats were not available as it was quite crowded on all three cruises due to it being school vacation. Week three was perhaps the worse as the kids (kids to me) were older (high school and collegeate).

Cabin

...The cabin was large enough but one complaint the bathroom was small in that it did not have enough storage space; the shower was fine for my height. I compared this to the oceanview cabin on the Nieuw Amsterdam I had in January; the balcony cabin on the Crown Princess was smaller. My cabin steward was Ramil; he did a good job all three weeks; (would like to offer him a job as my chauffeur).?

...Internet and Cell Phone: There is a sign telling you that Satellite connection is slower than DSL and they are not kidding; it is faster watching paint dry (no doubt more interesting also). I used the internet once as I got 150 free minutes being a platinum member and sent a message to the cruise critic forum; it took me 25 minutes to do this.

Thu 3/31/11: Boston - Fort Lauderdale

...The taxi from condo to the airport was $20. Then Jet Blue flight 449 A320 nonstop from Boston to FLL; it was not bumpy despite the bad weather along the East Coast but then again we were flying about 34,000 ft. Holiday Inn picked me up near the terminal and after checking in I went to Marina Deli for lunch: a $9.70 tuna fish salad with potato salad. Next to Office Depot for a 32GB flash drive; then to the Dollar Tree Store for some thank you cards for the meet & greet and Wool Wash for my underwear. For supper I went to the Siam House around the corner from the hotel; I have often wanted to try his restaurant, tried it this time, and won't go back. I had the roast duck with rice and Chinese broccoli; (I put the broccoli aside as I do not eat broccoli). Next I walked to Walgreens for some last minute things; also it was exercise after supper.

Fri 4/1/11: Fort Lauderdale

..Breakfast then back to the room to get ready for the day. There was a power outage for about 5 minutes at the hotel last night, no explanation given. Lunch was at the Tropical Cafe on Cordova then to Publix supermarket. On weekends you can catch the Sun trolley that stops at Publix. Supper was at Joe's Cafe on Cordova, the street that leads to Publix supermarkets. I had chopped beefsteak and New England clam chowder but the chowder at Legal Seafood's in Boston is much better.

Sat 4/2/11: FLL - Grand Cayman - smart casual

...I had the free hotel breakfast then took Ace bus from the hotel to the cruise terminal; later it occurred to me that the driver never asked for the $8 (and I was not about to remind him - the hotel never asked for it either). At the terminal I looked at my watch saw it was 11:42 and the next time I was in my room unpacking and it was 1:41pm. The muster drill was held in the Wheelhouse Bar; I sat doing a crossword. The important thing is that I showed up and had my key card validated as being present. We saw a super tanker and the HAL Eurodam leave. Captain Nash said that after the Zuiderdam & Oasis of the Seas left we would leave. We departed about 5:30pm. Supper guests this week were Sherri, Bill, Betty, Jackie, Neil and newlyweds Andy and Jennifer. For supper @ 5:30pm I had lobster pate, prime rib, baked potato, coffee and chocolate cake. The entertainment tonight was Welcome Aboard Showtime in the Princess Theater. It was well done and Cruise Director Ron Goodman did a good job. Comedian Cary Long was great; he has performed on the Tonight show. I turned in early, early for me that is; asked in the afternoon that my queen size bed be made into twins and I felt like I was going to fall off the bed. Before turning in I looked at the various tours that were left in my cabin; just looked...

Sun 4/3/11: Sea Day - formal

...I woke about 1am and felt like taking a little walk, this is something I would not do at home. I looked in the Princess Patter for a restaurant that was open at midnight and none was displayed. So I called Passenger Services and was told that Horizon Buffet is open 24 hours. Thus I trotted up to Horizons & had a midnight snack if you will. Breakfast and lunch was at Da Vinci on Deck 6. The Cruise Critic Meet and Greet was held at 10am in Skywalker's; sort of disappointed that we did not have coffee or tea but no one complained. About 20 people showed up. Captain Nick Nash came with the invite letter I sent him & he might have been disappointed as he joking expected 100 people. One thing he pointed out was that to Grand Cayman there are 2 routes; the fast & the marriage. We are taking the marriage as there was a marriage planned and we have to be 12 miles out. He also said that Roatan is a tricky port and one cannot always maneuver the ship into that port. For lunch I had the soup and Philly steak minus the bread. I did it again; in the Princess Patter yesterday it stated that if you want a robe for the cruise just ask, so I asked Ramil for a robe and slippers. The slippers I received last night, the robe today; ask and ye shall receive (playing dumb doesn't hurt either). The show tonight "Destination Anywhere" was on the Crown from London to NYC but the crew was different. Tonight before the show Cruise Director Ron Goodman said that Captain Nash is leaving to Captain the Emerald Princess. At Movies Under Stars I saw ½ hr of True Grit; seen it on TV so didn't stay long; this was a take-off on the western True Grit starring John Wayne and you just can't beat John Wayne, it was more of an insult.

Mon 4/4/11: Grand Cayman - smart casual

..Wake-up call service rang the telephone at 5am; after getting up I set it for 7:30am then went back to sleep. For breakfast I had steak and eggs which was delicious (probably because I was hungry) after which I took the tender ashore. Back at Da Vinci for lunch I sat at a table with 2 couples, both checked in to the cruise critic roll call but did not attend yesterday's Meet and Greet. After lunch I went to Movies Under the Stars and saw "Tron: Legacy"; I could not make sense out of it so went to the 2pm movie in the Explorers Lounge of "RED" with Bruce Willis & Morgan Freeman. Usually if these two gentlemen are in a movie you get a wonderful performance and this movie was no exception. After supper I went to the Explorers Lounge to get a decent seat for the 8:45 performance of comedian Cary Long; he was great, the audience loved him. I went to the Casino and looked at a $.01 slot machine. A lady was walking away saying she put $10 in the machine and lost, so I took a gamble, put $10 in and within minutes won $19.70 or nearly doubling my money. Then I played a machine the Princess Casino People call "the Pusher or Spin & Win". As money was in the pot, apparently left by the previous player, I played that machine winning and losing but it did not cost me anything. Several elderly ladies came by so I let them have the remaining quarters and the machine; it was not my money to begin with.

Tue 4/5/11: Isle of Roatan- smart casual

..Woke up at 5am for medication then again at 7:30; breakfast and lunch were both at the Da Vinci Dining Room. A couple from NY at the table, they have been married 50 years, said that it was too hot outside. After lunch I went outside and browsed the various shops mainly just to get some exercise. For supper I had leg of lamb which was a mistake; meat on a bone and it was difficult to cut. The meat was not tender and I know what not to have. Showtime in the Princess Theater was hypnotist Kellie Karl and she was fine; what made her act less enjoyable was the loudspeaker background music. She spoke on the microphone and most of what she said I could not hear. There was the international show at 11pm, also in the Princess theater, which was a riot. Prior to the show the Assistant Cruise Director let loose many balloons which kept the audience busy as balloons were being batted everywhere and some even exploded. In addition to that there was music that I enjoyed and the Assistant Cruise Director and several of her people moved to the music of YMCA. I've never seen movement like this to that song.

Wed 4/6/11: Cozumel - smart casual

..We arrived here at 7am along with 3 Carnival ships and 1 Disney ship. Breakfast was normal; at lunch a couple I had lunch with said this weather was abnormal. They had gone ashore and said it was unusually hot for this time of year as they had been here before. After lunch I went ashore, visited the nearby stores, then returned to the ship; a combination of the heat and I really did not want to buy anything plus there was not much to be seen in the area, also the ship was air conditioned. Tonight in the Princess Theater piano entertainer Glenn Smith; I have come to the conclusion that the performers are talented but the theater background noise does not help them at all. The music is just too loud. I question the acoustics in the cruise theater. Also I saw comedian Dan Grueter in the Explorer's Lounge; he was very good, did not have theater background noise to drown him out and used audience participation. I ended up at Horizon Buffet for a midnight snack. We turn our clocks ahead one hour tonight.

Thu 4/7/11: Sea Day - formal

..I had breakfast as usual then an interesting lunch with 2 couples. One was in the grocery business from Ohio, the other in the teaching field from Michigan, and another individual in the trucking business from Oregon. It was an interesting conversation covering welfare to a comparison between working adults and kids to trucks with GPS. Then I went to Future Cruise and booked a cruise from London round trip to Ft Lauderdale in October 2012; booked a guarantee BG room that may turn into an upgrade.

.

Fri 4/8/11: Princess Cays - smart casual

..Breakfast; after lunch I saw Morning Glory and was just killing time. At 2pm I saw Bernadtte Varizi the Captains Circle Membership Hostess to straighten out my membership. She said that for next week I would be Platinum, but if the new card still says Gold to go to Passenger Services and have a new card made. I did not go ashore. Earlier Passenger Services told me that I had a $148.50 credit for this cruise so I decided to take the Sanctuary for a week at $109 but the stewards told me to come back tomorrow. This gave me time to think; bad for them but good for me. For supper tonight I had steak, as did most of the table, which was a mistake; should have had Salmon instead. Tonight was Baked Alaska night. I went to the Princess Theater to see Ray Coussins, a former pianist for Frank Sinatra, and his tribute to Frank Sinatra. At Movies Under the Stars I saw Little Fockers; funny but not as good as the first one.

Sat 4/9/11: FLL - Grand Cayman

..Breakfast, and then back to the cabin to finish the diary for the first week. The group of transit passengers, those travelling on the next voyage, met at Vines, got off the ship, went through customs, and then reboarded the ship. I had lunch and met Papermaker from the roll call. Passengers in transit are only required to take the mandatory muster once, so I took a nap instead only to be awaked by the loudspeaker. In the afternoon I purchased a soda card for $57 including tip; it figures to about $8 per day. Supper was at a table for 4 people even though I requested a table for six; I had the same as 4/2/11 then went to Passenger Services and got a Platinum card. It is not easy; I argued with the Princess rep on the phone back in Boston, argued with Passenger services on the Crown Princess, it was like "not my job", they seem to really make you work. Then I saw the movie RED two times. What I learned to do is wash my underwear at 5pm so it is ready by 5am the next day; this gave me more time in the evening.

Sun 4/10/11: Sea Day - formal

..Breakfast with 3 couples and the talk ended up political, but was very interesting; started to eat about 8am, next time I looked at my watch it was 9:30am. I was going to ask that my seat for the evening be changed but decided otherwise. At the Meet & Greet about 40 people showed up, the most of any Meet and Greet I have organized. Again no beverages or pastries; no Officers showed up either. Lunch was with 2 couples; a mother, father, and daughter, son in-law and also one female whose husband died recently; she loved to talk and boast about her son, she booked this cruise at the last minute because of family problems - she doesn't get along with her daughter in-law. I had chicken broth, mixed grill, and fruit tart. Last night for supper I was seated at a table for 4 by mistake. Tonight it was corrected. My other guests were Sue and George, John and Jackie and myself. I had a delicious steak for supper then the production of "Motor City" in the Princess Theater. The audience gave the dancer's a standing ovation; this shows the difference between this week's audience and last week's. Last week we had many children and this week we have few children plus the ship appears not to be sold out. Later the Liars Club followed by Comedian Dan Grueter whose show was similar to last week's performance but was still funny.

Mon 4/11/11: Grand Cayman - smart casual

..I had breakfast with a couple from the Meet & Greet and a couple from FL. The table was by a window and I noticed the RCCL Navigator of the Seas anchored as well as Carnival's Inspiration. Then I went to Passenger Services and noticed that I will have a credit of $200 by the end of the week. The credit is non refundable so I either have to use it or lose it; that's a tough decision for someone that does not expect to buy anything on board or take a tour. This morning I went ashore to Grand Cayman; gave me the afternoon to get a tan and enjoy the ship's air-conditioning. But the temperature did not feel as bad today as it did last week. I visited Margaritaville and the Island Plaza. Lunch with 5 people, no couples, we talked about different cruise lines, sports, weather, and food. After lunch instead of getting a tan I worked on pictures taken; took me about 2 hours; now I am caught up to date. The Patter, the daily list of events, had few activities that I was interested in. I saw the movie Burlesque at Movies Under the Starts then took part is The Ultimate Deck Party followed by a midnight snack.

Tue 4/12/11: Roatan - smart casual

..We were having breakfast when the Captain announced that due to the strong Easterly winds landing at the pier would have to be delayed; we ended up docking by 10am. After breakfast I visited the future cruise consultant who told me that the Star Princess (cruise of 2012) is being renovated. Then I went to Movies Under the Stars to see "An Affair to Remember". About noon I had lunch with two couples; one of the women agreed that women over-pack saying the most she takes is a small suitcase. Then I went ashore, came back to Movies Under the Stars saw "James Brown Live in Berlin" and the start of "Tangled". Supper with John and Jackie as Sue and George were no shows. Tonight was Italian night; John and Jackie had the eggplants appetizer which looked good. I had veal again, had it last week, and must remember to have something else next week. Then to the Production Show of "Destination Anywhere"; before the show I talked to a couple who said they tried Carnival once and did not like it. Then they gave it two more tries and still the same; the last time was a two week trip to the Panama Canal and the ship they were on was used for Hurricane Katrina. Carnival said they spent about a million dollars renovating but the couple found too many flaws. The audience gave the show a standing ovation again. After that I went to the Explorers Lounge to see the end of "Alphabet Trivia" and the show "Classical Concert" with the Venice Cafe Quintet.

Wed 4/13/11: Cozumel - smart casual

..Breakfast with two couples, one of which I had breakfast with yesterday; conversation ended up with overweight people. The ship may hold more than 3000 people, but I am amazed at how many faces are familiar and the same faces at the table I am sitting at. Then I went to the Internet Cafe to write to the Cruise Critic Roll Call for 4/16/11; connection is so slow it's faster watching paint dry. I eventually went ashore, did not take any tours, just looked around the pier area and purchased a T-Shirt. In port with us were Carnival, and Celebrity. Lunch then saw the "Social Network"; supper was chef's night, nothing to write home about. I went to the Explorer's Lounge and heard Gordon and the Orchestra as well as Comedian Cary Long then went to the Princess Theater for Hypnotist Kellie Karl and the International Crew Show.

Thu 4/14/11: Sea Day - Formal Night

..Breakfast then to Movies Under the Stars to see Tangled followed by lunch. I did not eat all for I had requested Princess to have a Masons Get Together; this was at 1pm in the Adagio Bar - they were very accommodating; however nobody showed up. For supper I had 2 escargots, 2 lobsters which was filling. Following that was the Production Show in the Princess Theater of "What a Swell Party; the audience gave them a standing ovation again. Then I went to the Newlywed Game Show followed by Movies Under the Stars and Morning Glory.

Fri 4/15/11: Princess Cays - Smart Casual

..Breakfast then I went to Future Cruise Sales and changed my cabin to an obstructed view as I most likely might be upgraded. After lunch went to Movies Under Stars and saw Morning Glory and Inception. Supper then in the Princess Theater A Tribute to Frank Sinatra starring Ray Coussins; the show was different from last week and the audience gave him a standing ovation. Then Little Fockers at Movies Under the Stars, back to my stateroom. Me thinks I am going to have trouble with Princess in the future regarding my Platinum and Elite memberships.

Sat 4/16/11: Fll - Grand Cayman - smart casual

..Breakfast then to front desk to mail a postcard, back to cabin to work; there are clothes I took that I haven't even worn. I showed up at Vines as instructed, the four of us left the ship, went through customs, then boarded the ship again; about ½ - 1 hour of inconvenience but Princess must show a zero count per customs law (so I am told). I had a rather big lunch, big for me as I dine at 5:30pm. I watched several movies at Movies Under the Stars. Supper was at table 442 this week with a family of 3 from CA (Frank, Bobbie, Jason) and a family of 3 from NY via Russia (Alex, Iring, Lilia; extremely interesting. After supper we went to Showtime in the Princess Theater with the Crown Princess Singers and Dancers and comedian Cary Long. Then to the spa where I made an appointment for tomorrow at 8am for a message. Next Movies Under the Stars and the movie RED followed by a snack in Horizons Grill.

Sun 4/17/11: Sea Day - formal

..I got up at 6:45am to get ready for the day and my spa appointment at 8am. To my surprise, the spa was quite crowded; I thought I'd be the only one there but it seems that people do get up early. It seems the spa makes a killing on cruises. Then I made my way to Skywalkers and the M&G. About 10 people showed up; the small number probably because of the nice weather. Hotel General Manager Melania showed up and said that after this week she is going home for two months. Now about the spa; I went to Passenger Services last night a saw that I had a credit balance for this trip of $365, so either I use it or lose it. Of that $56 goes for the soda card I purchased, $140 for the spa, $63 for tips per day; all this will leave me about $88 credit for the trip. Supper then to the Explorers Lounge for comedian Cary Long followed by the Liars Club; next to Movies Under The Stars and True Grit.

Mon 4/18/11: Grand Cayman - smart casual

..Breakfast then went took the tender ashore to Grand Cayman and walked to Bayshore Mall. Last week I had lunch with someone who said the Museum was on a side street when it really is on Harbour Drive. Island Plaza has more to offer than Bayshore Mall, but the Mall is adjacent to Grand Cayman's Hard Rock Cafe. Back on the ship I had lunch then saw Yogi Bear in Movies Under the Stars. After supper I went to the Explorers Lounge and saw comedian Cary Long then the Yes/No Game Show followed by the Kings Speech in the Princess Theater.

Tue 4/19/11: Roatan - smart casual

..During breakfast the Captain announced that weather conditions were unsafe to land at Roatan and the forecast is for the weather to worsen, so we are heading for our next stop of Cozumel. After lunch I spent the whole afternoon at Movies Under the Stars. I went to supper then Showtime with hypnotist Kellie Karl in the Princess Theater followed by The International Crew Show. I gambled $10 and am not sure if I have money to spend or not, anyway it is not mine, Princess is paying for it; I still have a credit balance.

Wed 4/20/11: Cozumel - smart casual

..Breakfast then to deck 17; we docked with the Carnival Legend, Carnival Ecstasy all at Mahogny Bay Pier. Disney Cruise Lines and NCL dock downtown; the cab fare from Mahogney Bay to downtown is $4; it is a 3 mile walk, paved, and you pass various shops and hotels. On Adagio, which is an outdoor bar, I got in a chat with a woman who said that the walk to town is 3 miles and is not bad considering you pass many shops and hotels. This gave me an idea to walk to town but I never made it. I walked by Sabatini's and Adagio and for $20 I can eat here; this will reduce my credit balance and Princess will pay for it, the bad part is that I will eat alone. I had lunch with a bridge player and ended up escorting her to the game area and playing chess. After supper I saw comedian Troy Thirdgill whom the audience liked but I did not think he was that great. This was followed by Majority Rules Trivia where a question is asked and the most popular answer wins. After that I saw the Tourist at Movies Under the Stars then spent $10 in the Casino.

Thu 4/21/11: Sea Day - formal

..Breakfast then to Movies Under the Stars and Tangled followed by lunch. In the Princess Patter, the daily menu of events, I saw listed at 1pm "Masons Get Together"; no one showed up last week so I was not in any hurry to get there this week. I went to the Adagio Bar on deck 16 aft and was surprised to see 3 Masons talking. We chatted for about 2 hours; it was good but 3 of us were from the states and 1 was from Canada; it would have been more interesting if other nations were there. After supper I went to Club Fusion for the 80's Music Trivia with CJ the DJ and succeeded in getting zero correct; following that was The Newlywed, Not So Newlywed Game Show and this is always funny no matter which cruise ship it is on. I then purchased a DVD from the photo shop as I still have a credit balance. Today I began packing and will continue it tomorrow and Saturday; I plan to leave the ship about 10am as I will spend a few days in Ft Lauderdale.

Fri 4/22/11: Princess Cays - smart casual

.. After breakfast I went back to my cabin and packed for about 2 hours. I met a single lady outside the Explorers Lounge who also had a Nook; she taught me some tricks on how to use it and suggested I take the free Barnes & Noble class. Lunch then I went to Movies Under the Stars and saw Inception which I gave 2 stars and read my Nook instead. Next I went to supper then spent time in Club Fusion reading my Nook, seeing the shows Bollywood followed by Make A Deal or Not; next was The Quest. Following that I went to Movies Under the Stars and saw Little Fockers. The problem I had at supper, watches were being sold for $20; I still had a credit of $30. But the watch I had was fine and had two alarms while the ones being sold only have one alarm, besides they are bigger.

Sat 4/23/11: Fort Lauderdale

.....Breakfast then to the cabin to finish packing and for some strange reason the baggage feels heavier than when I left home. I called the hotel and requested a pickup at terminal 2 but they told me they do not pick up at the terminal. So I took a $10 taxi to the hotel; if I could have walked it I would have. Most of the day I spent working on email, and deleting most of it; I had lunch at the nearby Harbor Cafe and supper at Kelly's Landing, also in the neighborhood.

Sun 4/24/11: Fort Lauderdale

..Breakfast then checked into Jet Blue for my Boarding Pass next back to my room and worked on the laptop until the maid requested to make up the room when I went outside. I had lunch at Five Guys Burger that was in a local mall but the Publix supermarket was closed. Surprisingly many shops on this Easter Sunday were open; this is far different than in Massachusetts. Supper at Bravo Italiano Restorante right across the street; back at my hotel room I prepared for a 5:30am tomorrow shuttle from the hotel to the airport. Less


Read more Crown Princess cruise reviews >>
Read Cruise Critic's Crown Princess Review >>

Cabin review: Crown Princess Mini-Suite with Balcony Dolphin A338

A338 was my cabin. I traveled alone. Although I have said the bathroom was small in storage space the overall cabin space was quite adequate for one person. The bathroom even had a clothesline in the shower which I liked and used this every night to wash my underwear. In addition the cabin was equipped with a desk and chair so's I could use my laptop.

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.