Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Eurodam Cruise Review by beckylynn1961: Our first cruise- ms eurodam


beckylynn1961
1 Review
Member Since 2010
90 Posts

Member Rating

Cabin 5.5
Dining 5.5
Embarkation 5.5
Enrichment Activities Not Rated
Entertainment Not Rated
Family & Children Not Rated
Fitness & Recreation Not Rated
Public Rooms 5.5
Rates 5.0
Service 5.5
Shore Excursions 5.0
Value for Money Not Rated

Compare Prices on Eurodam Eastern Caribbean Cruises

Our first cruise- ms eurodam

Sail Date: November 2010
Destination: Eastern Caribbean
Embarkation: Fort Lauderdale (Port Everglades)

Our First Cruise 11/12/10: flew to ft. lauderdale and stayed at comfort inn airport/cruise port south. It was adequate- clean, free hot breakfast buffet, free shuttle from airport and to port everglades, and $89 for double booked thru expedia also had a service for shuttle from ship to FLL. at disembark on 11/20 for $8 each(which we used).

11/13/10: shuttle for eurodam departed hotel at 11:30. Arrived at port at 11:45. 15 minute wait to board ship. After passing thru security we were escorted to special checkin for deluxe suite guests and given room key. Were then escorted to the neptune lounge for snacks. Met our concierges jona and laverne who took very good care of us for the week. The neptune was beautiful and had wonderful snacks and pastries daily from 7 am to 7 pm. The concierges were available 24/7 for all of our needs, reservations, shore excursion bookings,etc. were told that all suites on deck 7 were ready and went to our cabin by 12:30. Deluxe verandah suite 7132 More was our castle for the week and john and I were the king and queen! The cabin was beautiful: fresh flowers, iced bottle of champagne, fresh ice in bucket, cooler with stocked mini-bar . The aft corner wraparound balcony was great- 2 cushioned wicker lounge chairs, dining table with 4 cushioned chairs, 2 wicker cushioned queens chairs with ottomans and a side table. The wake, sunrises, sunsets, and views were breathtaking from here. We met our room stewards, aduan and yus, who were super. They knew all of our preferences by day 2 and spoiled us rotten. We received an invitation to the suite welcome cocktail and hor d'oeuvre party but did not attend. We sailed at 5 pm. The life boat drill took place.a little later. We asked for, and immediately received, dining room dinner menu for the night and breakfast menu for the morning. We had in room breakfast every morning and it was always hot and on time with linen napkins, real silverware, and vase of flowers. You could write in anything available in dining room during open hours for room service meals so we had room service dinner some too. Dinner was always as ordered but breakfast was always a surprise- extra items, missing cream, etc. we just laughed and enjoyed what came! Seas became rough that night and we stumbled around room quite a bit but were rocked to sleep that night.

11/14/10: a sea day. Water very rough still- can see many white caps and captain said 11 foot waves present.. A recent storm in the atlantic is to blame. We had to duct tape some drawers shut ( glad I brought it). We walked around and explored ship.ms eurodam is very beautiful with fresh flowers and artwork everywhere. After viewing the lido buffet area, we decided the crowd and feeding frenzy were not our gig so we avoided it the whole week. We had lunch in the rembrant and were seated with 2 delightful couples. The elderly husband in one of the couples had developed the catch mechanism at bottom of zippers and became quite wealthy. He then built sail boats. The lunch was very good and service fine.we met a fellow cruise critic roll call member- tom- at the aft pool bar for a cocktail. He is a producer for ABC news and been on many cruises. Had in room dinner again- enjoying that balcony!

11/15/10: sunrise beautiful, seas calm. Ported in gran turk at 8 am. Beautiful weather and nice cruise center here built by carnival. Went to our rented golf cart- pre rented from nathan smith- and rode into cockburn town. We toured the shipwreck museum which is run by 2 nice ladies- $5 entry with ship car d. Had cracked conch( very tasty) at barbies in town. I bought a sarong at one of the little shops. Rode to the still in-use lighthouse. We saw many wild donkeys and horses that roam free on the island after being turned loose from use in prior salt-mining days. Rode to jack's shack(a beach bar/restaurant) and had coctails and parked on the beautiful beach. I swam with tofer, he is a sweet little white dog that belongs to jack and loves to dive and swim. We met another cruise critic roll call couple here- cathy and dave- and spent the rest of the day here enjoying the awesome beach..when going back to the boat, we stopped at jimmy buffet's margaritaville- very lively and crowded! Back onboard at 4;30. Had an invitation for cocktails and hor d'oeurves in suite of tom and mona and attended. Cathy and dave came as well. Neptune lounge had provided nice snacks and pretty invitations. Had dinner in rembrant- meal nice but very noisy. Returned to room and found lucy- our little towel swan! Bed turned down with little chocolates and linen foot mats on each side-aah the suite life!

11/16/10: lazy morning. Ported in san juan, peurto, rico at 1 pm atold san juan area. Took the free trolley to ft. el morro and toured the fort. This is a beautiful old city with an impressive old fort- much walking! Took the trolley back to the old city area and walked around the park and market area. Had early dinner at cafe berlin on the sidewalk patio area. Had wonderful local mojito(mashed yucca that is seasoned, breaded lightly, and fried), beans and rice, and muffeletta sandwiches- awesome! I had a bahama mama and john had a manjito! Back to the boat. found horton- our little towel elephant! Had appetizers and soup in room and watched beautiful sail-out of the lighted city at 11 pm.

11/17/10: ported in st. thomas, u.s. virgin islands- another beautiful island. we took ship-based excursion to seatrek helmet dive/ coral world at 9:30 am. it was awesome! beautiful clear water and saw, as well as handled many fish and sea creatures. a photographer took many stil photos and a video that was put on a zip drive for $65- of course we purchased.! our van driver that had taken us to the excursion was supposed to pick us up at 12:30, but we asked if he could return later. he agreed(and did return at 3:00 as asked and returned us to boat for $8 each), so we spent the rest of time at coki beach. it was wonderful with a lot of local flare. we felt very safe- police circled thru. vendors were friendly and accommodating. a great beach day. had dinner in rembrant - very good . found buddy- towel puppy - waiting for us. just another day in paradise!

11/18/10: a sea day. spent a little time visiting in shops and the had lunch in the tamarind- very tasty with good service. our tablemates were a former director of the CIA and his wife! he was onboard as a guest lecturer for the spycruise group onboard. we have really been hobnobbing! returned to room and had invitation to coctail and hordeveure reception in the silk den with captain and crew prior to our planned wedding vow renewal at 7:30 pm. this was a highlight of our cruise. the ceremony - performed by the captain- was quite touching. only 4 couples were there, so he took us to a private area and had each ceremony separately. they presented us with corsages, a nice memento photo album , 2 included photos, a signed certificate , and words of the ceremony. we then went to pinnacle grill for dinner. I had crab cakes and john had lobster bisque for appetizers. we then both had the land and sea(which was listed as filet and prawns on menu, but we asked for- and received- filet with lobster tail). it was all succulent. john said "best I ever had". returned to find mallory- our towel monkey! a wonderful day!

11/19/10: ported at half moon cay- HAL's private island- at 8 am. were tendered by 8:45 to our private cabana #8 pink. it was cute, with tasty, fresh snacks, but would not do this again. the day was partially cloudy but comfortable, so we never used air conditioner , misting fans, or float mats. I used snorkling equip, but not much to see. nice beach barbecue for lunch. spent the rest of time in water. it is a beautiful island, but I felt the price of $299 not justified for private cabana for us. plenty of free chairs, natural shade, free food, etc. last tender to ship was 3:30, so we won't do this again. had room dinner again and started packing. we went to casino to lose a few dollars then returned to find peter- our towel rabbit and then to bed. has it really gone this fast?!?

11/20/10: was up early to watch port into ft. lauderdale at 7 am. one last breakfast in bed. we disembarked at 8:30 with no problems- just a line that moved quickly. we did get randomly selected for agriculture check! shuttle back to FLL very timely. was a long line thru security but moved quickly and no problem making 11:30 flight out. flight smooth and home to our lab ebby by 4 pm. a dream come true on the eurodam! bon voyage! Less


Read more Eurodam cruise reviews >>
Read Cruise Critic's Eurodam Review >>

Cabin review: Eurodam Deluxe Verandah Suite Upper Verandah 7132

cabin 7132 was large. very big closets and much storage space. had a large bathroom with separate shower stall and whirlpool bathtub. also had a private dressing area with lighted makeup mirror. has a large desk area, sleeper sofa, 2 chairs and dining table. the balcony is a large aft corner wraparound with 2 loungers, dining table with 4 chairs, side table, and 2 queen chairs with ottomans. we loved this cabin but did have more motion when we had rough seas. so i would not recommend for people prone to motion sickness.

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.