Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox

Carnival Dream Cruise Review by fllady61

Home > Reviews > Member Reviews > Carnival Dream Cruise Review by fllady61
Carnival Dream
Carnival Dream
Member Name: fllady61
Cruise Date: October 2010
Embarkation: Port Canaveral
Destination: Western Caribbean
Cabin Category: 4G
Cabin Number: 8361
Booking Method:
See More About: Carnival Dream Cruise Reviews | Western Caribbean Cruise Reviews | Carnival Cruise Deals
Member Rating   5+ out of 5+
Dining 5+
Public Rooms 5+
Cabins 5.0
Entertainment 5+
Spa & Fitness 5.0
Family & Children Not Rated
Shore Excursions 5+
Embarkation 5+
Service 5+
Value-for-Money 5+
Rates 5+
Write a cruise review!

Show the Lowest Price
Departure Month
Please select at least one vendor.
Expedia
Travelocity.com
Carnival.com
Onboard.com
CheapCruises.com
Cruise.com
Priceline.com
American Discount Cruises
Sponsored Links:

red arrow


Ship Facts: Carnival Dream Review (by Cruise Critic!) | Carnival Dream Deck Plans
Dream Halloween Cruise
Carnival Dream Cruise 10/30/10, We arrived at the port about 10;30 AM. We were parked and heading to the terminal shortly there after. Check in was a breeze. We went through security quickly and then proceeded up the elevator to check in. In a matter of minutes we were headed up the gangway to board the ship. We headed up to the Lido deck, deck 10, I went to the Mongolian bar where I had a wonderful stir fry with shrimp. Kathryn had Hamburger and fries, as did Art. We set there for a bit before heading to try and find Josh the cruise director whom we had told in advance we were coming on board. We met in the main lobby a young lady named Aubrey who was very sweet to us. And because of her, we made every effort to go see all the shows that the song and dance team were putting on., Shortly after we left Josh a note letting him know what cabin we were in. We then proceeded to our cabin to check it out. Because of the way the room was set up, the room looked so tiny. No room for anything hardly. We slept with it like that the first night, then on Sunday morning, we decided to ask the steward to separate the beds so we would have more room. It did make the room look about twice as large., Anyway, back to embarkment day. While we were taking in the room, Josh called and said he would meet us after the welcome aboard show, which we had never before gone to. The show was awesome. After ward, Josh came and talked to us for quite a while. We then headed up to the Lido deck for ice cream. Then we tried our luck in the casino to no avail. Oh well, There is still a week to go., We then headed to bed. We were all so tired we all crashed on the king size bed. And yes, it was hard to sleep 3 to the bed, but when you are that tired, who cares., Good Night.,

10/31/10, Happy Halloween, Today turned out to be quite interesting. Beside the fact that we had asked the steward to change the arrangement of the room, we had a good day. The seas were quiet. The sun was bright, and the day was relaxing. We discovered the ship to a degree. Found club 02, circle C, the arcade, found all the bars, and our way around the ship to the best we could. We basically did not do much. About 4 pm, we headed to our cabin to prepare for the Halloween dress up. I went as and injured TBR (Tampa bay rays) fan, and Art went as Joe Maddon. Kathryn went as a Skull Witch. Art and I did get into the contest, but did not get in the finals. That is ok. We at least got in the contest. AND we got a medal for making it that far., After the judging, we headed back the cabin and shed our costumes and headed back out to the casino for about an hour. Again, no luck. About midnight we went to bed.,

11/1/10, Today we are in Cozumel, We went into the little shoppers area, where we got a few little things like coffee, and some Mexican vanilla. We then headed back to the ship. We went to the Lido deck to eat lunch after taking our things back to the cabin. We collected our jewels from Diamonds International and Tanzanite International. Which was not much. Diamonds International was a charm for our bracelets. And Tanzanite was a pair of Tanzanite earrings., After eating, we went to the cabin for a quick nap. When we finally woke up, we got ready for dinner, then headed down to the main lobby to wait for the dining room to open. While there, a young lady named Vickie was singing at the piano entertainment area. She was a pleasure to listen to. There was a couple there who danced to almost every song she sang., We had a wonderful dinner with our lovely waiters of Anthony and Rannakdrn (Randy for short). And our bar waiter Hpyoie. His name was too hard to say so he just told us to call him H. H was from Ecuador., After dinner we spent about an hour in the casino, and still nothing. We went to the 8 More Seconds show which was a country western show and it was great. We then did our nightly round up to the Lido deck to get our nightly ice cream and french fries and burger. Then it was off to bed.,

11/2/10, Today is Belize. Our nerd port. And we call it that because of the tender to get to the port. The dream can not go in as far as the Glory did, so it was more like a 30 min ride on a tender that goes about 40 mile an hour or more and the boat sits on it's tail to get there. With my vertigo, we opted to stay on the ship because of this. We did not do much. Tuesday night, we went to the see the juggler, and he was great. He did some tricks that I had never seen before, and kept us on the edge of our seats and splitting our ribs with some of the things he would act out. To start the show, the CD pretended like he was having a problem with the microphone and had us basically rolling in the floor laughing. Kitty and I were laughing so hard we were crying., Again, we went after the show for our nightly routine of ice cream.,

11/3/10, Isla Roatan. We did go into this port because we had never been here before. Kathryn went on an excursion to the Rain Forest through Carnival. I would not have let her go if it would have been a private excursion., Art and I went to the shops in the port area. Which this port was built especially for Carnival cruise line, by Carnival. We got our charm, our free Tanzanite earrings, and at EFFY, we got a necklace, and for 10$ a matching pair of earrings. Since this shop was brought to the island by carnival, they offered a necklace at any EFFY store you go to and get a collection of the sets by visiting the EFFY stores. (btw, EFFY is a jewelry store.), Art and I headed back to the ship, in a light sprinkle. We took our stuff to the cabin, then headed up to lunch. After lunch we went to the cabin for a nap. About the time we got resting well, Kathryn came in and started telling us about her day. We then proceeded to go to get ready for dinner. After dinner, we went to the Dancing In the Streets show. It was wonderful. They did all different types of things including a short rendition of cats by Andrew Lloyd Weber., What made this week so special was the game that the FUN SHIP ENTERTAINMENT STAFF had going on. It was a little thing that made for a cute game for those who participated. A simple little putting your finger on your nose, and the last on to catch on got made fun of. We had a blast doing it all week with the staff., This weeks staff was awesome. Josh (Big Sexy), the Cruise Director, George (Baby Butch) the Assistant Cruise Director, and the rest of the team, Megan (squeaker), Greg (Gumby), Christian, & Leonnie. This group seemed to just make our cruise even more enjoyable.,

11/4/10, Costa Maya. We had said we were not going into town today, but we did. It did not change much since the last time we were there. A few more shops, Again, we got our charm, our Tanzanite earrings, and a few other little things. Kathryn wanted a specially made ring with her name on it, and I got me a new gown/house dress, and a blouse. Nothing much else was bought here. If you wanted tequila, it was the place to get it. So much more than 350 types of tequila sold in the warehouse there in the port shops. Did not really impress me, but I went in just to see the shop and see the worm in the tequila that you always hear about. And yes, they were there. The worm helps to purify the tequila. Some that are made in the lesser countries, or areas of the islands and are hand made, will have the worm in them. Those made in factories most likely will not., We stopped to take a few pictures, and then hung around for the Diamonds International drawing. Hoping of course we would win. But we did not., We headed back to the ship. We went and dropped our stuff off at the cabin, then went for lunch. Tonight was second formal night. At 2:30 we went to Club 02 to watch the CD put on his afternoon show. It was hilarious. After that, Art and I went back to the cabin, and fell asleep. We woke up about 7 pm. We skipped dinner and went to the Lido deck to eat. After eating, we went to the show which was Get Ready which was another wonderful performance by the song and dance team., After the show, we went for Ice cream again. Then headed back to the cabin for the night.,

11/5/10, Our last sea day. Boo Hoo. Hate to see the end of the day. Unfortunately, I woke with a migraine and the rocking of the ship due to rough waters and bad weather from TOMAS the tropical depression/storm, really made it bad for me. I finally did go try to eat about 10 am and got so sick. I went back to the cabin and slept till almost 3 pm. After that, I was feeling pretty well, We went and enjoyed the final meal in the dining room. I had shrimp cocktail x 2, prime rib and fried shrimps. What a meal., By the time dinner was over, we were well into the rough weather. Although the dream is a huge ship, and you could barley feel the ship the rest of the week, tonight, the ship was awful. We went to the Liar, Liar show, then stayed for Bingo, but did not play, and then stayed for the Legends show. It was really good. Especially when the CD got on stage as Dolly Parton and was acting silly. It made everyone laugh. But the show was awesome., I got my picture taken with Vickie, the Piano singer, and with Aubrey the young lady that helped us so on the first day today. Got a ton of pictures of the crew and Kathryn with them., We had finished our packing and put our bags out to be picked up. We so did not want to do that. We were having a wonderful time. It could have one on forever and we would not have cared., Off to bed about midnight after spending about 15 - 20 min talking to Josh, we were just too tired to do anything else. However, when I got to the cabin, I could not sleep. Don't know why, but I just could not sleep, Finally got to sleep about 130 - 2 am.,

11/6/10, Woke at 4 am, and went back to sleep till 630 am when I thought it was after 8 am. I got up and showered and got dressed. We then proceeded to head to the Encore lounge where we would wait for our number to be called to disembark., We were off the ship with ease. About 20 min total for customs and luggage pickup, NOT IN THAT ORDER. We were in our car and headed out of the port by 930. We stopped for a bathroom break and for coffee on the way home as I had not had any yet this morning., We got home slowly because of the wind on the road, we drove slower than usual. We arrived home about noon. Unloaded the car, then got caught up on face book and mail., And that was our vacation. So sad it is over, but sort of glad to be reconnected to the world,


Publication Date: 11/09/10
More Carnival Dream Cruise Reviews

Read the previous Carnival Dream review Read the next Carnival Dream review

Like This Review?



Register for a Meet & Mingle!
More Western Caribbean Cruise Reviews
Cruise Critic's Carnival Dream Review
Carnival Cruise Deals
Carnival Message Board
Write a cruise review!
About UsAdvertisingEditorial DisclaimerPress
PrivacySite MapStoreSubscribe
X

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.

We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.