Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox

Splendour of the Seas Cruise Review by LEESRE

Home > Reviews > Member Reviews > Splendour of the Seas Cruise Review by LEESRE
Splendour of the Seas
Splendour of the Seas
Member Name: LEESRE
Cruise Date: July 2008
Embarkation: Venice
Destination: Eastern Mediterranean
Cabin Category: N
Cabin Number: 3583
Booking Method: Local Travel Agency
See More About: Splendour of the Seas Cruise Reviews | Eastern Mediterranean Cruise Reviews | Royal Caribbean Cruise Deals
Member Rating   5.0 out of 5+
Dining 5.0
Public Rooms 4.0
Cabins 4.0
Entertainment 2.0
Spa & Fitness 4.0
Family & Children Not Rated
Shore Excursions Not Rated
Embarkation 5+
Service 5.0
Value-for-Money 5.0
Rates 5.0
Write a cruise review!

Show the Lowest Price
Departure Month
Please select at least one vendor.
Expedia
Avoya Travel
Travelocity.com
iCruise.com
CruiseDirector.com
Cruise.com
Direct Line Cruises
Priceline.com
American Discount Cruises
CheapCruises.com
Sponsored Links:

red arrow
red arrow


Ship Facts: Splendour of the Seas Review (by Cruise Critic!) | Splendour of the Seas Deck Plans
Splendour of the Seas Cruise
SPLENDOUR OF THE SEAS CRUISE JULY 11 2008 TO JULY 19TH 2008.

This is a brief summary of our cruise on Splendour of the Seas on the above dates.

We arrived at Manchester airport and could not believe that there was no queue for the check in. After a very short while we were through to the departure lounge. That is when the trouble started. We were asked to go to the gate for our departure but when we arrived we were informed that due to technical reasons that we would not be taking off on time. After sitting at the gate for about half an hour we were informed that they could not rectify the problem and that we would be sent back to the lounge to await further announcements. We were then informed that they would be changing the aircraft and we would have to await the inbound aircraft. We eventually took off approx 2 hours late. I must say that the service we received from BMI on the aircraft was superb and they apologized for the lateness.

We arrived at Venice International Airport and were soon on the coach to the port. Being as though we are Diamond Members of the Crown and Anchor, again no line for check in and we were soon on the Splendour of the Seas.

Day 1 Venice. July 11th 2008.

After our delay it soon got round to the sail away and this was very pleasant in quite beautiful sunshine. We had decided to have second seating dinner and Royal Caribbean had altered the times, they now have seatings at 630 pm, 7 pm, 830 pm and 9 o'clock. We had been assigned the 9 o'clock seating. We were shown to our table number 12 but unfortunately we had a table for 8 and we had 10 people. We were then asked if we minded to take another table which did not please us as the Head Waiter asked if we minded to change our seating time to 630 pm. After a word with the assistant Maitre'd we were allotted another table at the 9 o'clock seating. This table turned out to be a very good table. The show this evening was Los Pampas Gauchos whom we have seen before.

Day 2 Split Croatia. July 12th 2008.

We arrived in Split at around 9 am and this was a tender port. Again being Diamond members we were given number 1 tender tickets and we were soon on our tender and off to see the delights of Split. We have been there once before so decided that we would just have a walk around the town and the Palace. Again bright blue skies with temperatures forecast to be a high of 93 degrees. A wonderful port of call with lots to do and a tip is to buy your currency, the Kuna, when you arrive. They also take the remaining currency you may have when you leave. Notes only. Back to the ship for a leisurely afternoon sitting on the aft deck watching the tenders ply back and forth with the remaining passengers. This evening entertainment was a production show Dancin' Thru the Movies again an old production so we spent the time in the Concierge lounge talking to fellow passengers.

Day 3 Sea Day July 13th 2008.

A full day at sea on our way to Heraklion Greece. Today's temperature is reported to be as high a 95 degrees. We spent most of the day either in the solarium or sitting on the aft deck. We decided that being as though it was a sea day we would go into the restaurant for lunch. Royal Caribbean have recently changed the format for lunch. They now have a menu and a salad bar. We highly recommend the restaurant for lunch on sea days. Tonight's entertainment was Headliner Showtime with the Graffiti Classics. We would again highly recommend anyone seeing this show. It comprised of 4 people two girls and two boys who played strings with a difference. A very enjoyable show. Tonight was formal night and the Captain's Welcome Aboard Reception was held in the Atrium.

Day 4 Heraklion Greece. 14th July, 2008

Day 4 and our cruise is going far too fast. We docked in Heraklion at around 9 am and they claim that the temperatures today will hit 83 degrees. A little cooler than our last few days. Again we did our own thing and just had a walk around the town. Quite a pleasant place to walk around with an ancient fort in the port area. For anyone that loves herbs and spices this we found was the place to buy them. Tonight's show was a headliner show again this time a singer Edmundo Rahme.

Day 5 Kusadasi Turkey. 15th July, 2008.

Today we docked in Kusadasi Turkey at around 7  am. We arrived to see that there were also 4 other ships in port. Temperatures today were reported to be around 101 degrees and it certainly felt like it. Not a favourite port for us, there was too much hassle from the vendors. We went to see a Turkish baths which was very interesting. Then back to the ship for a little swim and some shade. Tonight's show was another headliner and this time it was Fallon Magic.

Day 6 Santorini Greece. 16th July, 2008

Today was our favourite port of call Santorini, unfortunately there were 4 other ships at anchor when we arrived. This made the port very very busy. We tendered at this port and this meant that the queue for the cable car was extremely long. It took approx 25 minutes to get on the cable car. Temperatures today were reported to be around 83 degrees. Once at the town of Fira the views were spectacular. The ways to get to the top are by donkey, walk up approx 600 steps or the cable car. Tonight's show was Ballroom Fever, yet another of the shows that we have seen and not one of our favourites. All in all a very good day.

Day 7 Corfu Greece. 17th July, 2008

We docked around 1230 pm after a very leisurely sail in the morning. Corfu was quite a way from the docks so you had to catch a bus to the dock gates and then another shuttle, which RCL charged 4 dollars, to get into town. A very interesting place with plenty to see and lots and lots of shops. Today's temperatures were 93 degrees and plenty of blue blue sky. In the evening a lovely sail away from the docks around a series of islands. Tonight's headliner show was Backbeat Beatles. If you liked the Beatles then you would have loved this show, standing room only in the Theatre.

Day 8 At Sea 18th July, 2008

Today a very pleasant day at sea with temperatures of 86 degrees. Tonight's show was Luis Dalton another headliner show.

Day 9 Venice 19th July, 2008

All things have to come to an end and this certainly was a very good cruise. When we arrived in Venice we were told that the Grand Canal had to be closed due to a boat festival. Therefore we had to dock in the container port and be tendered off the ship to the Cruise Piers. Royal Caribbean did an excellent job in this, we sailed up the Grand Canal in small launches . What and end to a cruise.

Once at the airport a quick check in and all too soon we were back in Manchester after a very good flight with BMI.

Overall as I said a very good cruise. The staff, especially our waiters Ajay and Jose, were exceptional. Also the Assistant Maitre'd, Gopar. The ship, even though it is 12 years old, is in good condition. Only a few minor things that needed attention. Unfortunately there were a few chair hogs. Some taking 4 chairs for 2 people, 2 in the shade and two in the sun, but you cannot blame the cruise line for this.








Publication Date: 07/27/08
More Splendour of the Seas Cruise Reviews

Read the previous Splendour of the Seas review Read the next Splendour of the Seas review

More Eastern Mediterranean Reviews
Black Sea Cruise
VIRAL INFECTION ON BOARD
Good, Not Great
Like This Review?



Register for a Meet & Mingle!
More Eastern Mediterranean Cruise Reviews
Cruise Critic's Splendour of the Seas Review
Royal Caribbean Cruise Deals
Royal Caribbean Message Board
Write a cruise review!
About UsAdvertisingEditorial DisclaimerPress
PrivacySite MapStoreSubscribe
X

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.

We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.