Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox

Carnival Liberty Cruise Review by Rich

Home > Reviews > Member Reviews > Carnival Liberty Cruise Review by Rich
Carnival Liberty
Carnival Liberty
Member Name: Rich
Cruise Date: January 2008
Embarkation: Fort Lauderdale (Port Everglades)
Destination: Western Caribbean
Cabin Category: 1A
Cabin Number: 6393
Booking Method: Internet Agency
See More About: Carnival Liberty Cruise Reviews | Western Caribbean Cruise Reviews | Carnival Cruise Deals
Member Rating   4.0 out of 5+
Dining 5.0
Public Rooms 3.0
Cabins 4.0
Entertainment 4.0
Spa & Fitness 5.0
Family & Children Not Rated
Shore Excursions 5.0
Embarkation 3.0
Service 4.0
Value-for-Money 5.0
Rates 4.0
Write a cruise review!

Show the Lowest Price
Departure Month
Please select at least one vendor.
Carnival.com
Avoya Travel
Travelocity.com
CheapCruises.com
American Discount Cruises
CruiseDirector.com
Expedia
Cruise.com
Priceline.com
Sponsored Links:

red arrow
red arrow


Ship Facts: Carnival Liberty Review (by Cruise Critic!) | Carnival Liberty Deck Plans
Sailed aboard the Carnival Liberty on 1/13/08
I travelled via JetBlue Airlines from EWR on Saturday 1/12/08 arriving 40 minutes early. I was staying in a family owned co-op in the Gault Ocean Mile area for the night.

EMBARKATION: Arrived at the pier at 11 AM and got a place in a very long line. Boarding started at 12 PM and I was on the ship by 12:30 PM. Room access could be made at 1:30. Proceeded to Lido Deck for lunch and lounging.

SHIP CONDITIONS: Ship overall was in good clean condition, but common areas did smell like ash trays.

MEAL SERVICE: Lido Deck Food Grades: Pizza: C+, Desserts: B+, Buffet Hot Foods-Breakfasts/Lunch/Dinners: C, Buffet Cold Foods: C+, Dining Room Breakfasts: C+, Lunches: B-, Dinners: B+ Dining Room Service: A

SHOWS: Welcome Aboard-Exactly the same as my 2 other Carnival Cruises

Comedian & Juggler-Entertaining, but not spectacular

Around the World-Huge technical problem brought the show to a complete stop, and after a very long wait the show lost a little luster

Liberty Idol-Did not attend but watched on shipboard TV-entertaining

Rockin' Down Broadway-Best of the Shows

Comedian & Sword Swallower-Did not attend

CABIN GRADES: Service: A, Cleanliness: B, Appropriations/Accommodations: A

DEBARKATION: Self Assisted-I literally was the 2nd person off the ship at 7:30 AM went through immigration and customs in about 2 minutes.

PORTS OF CALL: Key West Florida 1/14/08 At Sea 1/15/08 Formal Night Grand Cayman Islands 1/16/08 Ocho Rios, Jamaica 1/17/08 Formal Night At Sea 1/18/08 In Port 1/19/08

GENERAL COMMENTS: There was some confusion during embarkation-had to fill out a Bahamas Declaration Form-even though the ship was not going there. No one ever explained that one to me. This is my 3rd cruise, and all have been with Carnival. Overall experience wise-this was my best cruise. The weather was perfect except for rain during sail away. I had the main seating for dinner service in the Silver Dining Room-Aft. I recommend this location because of my favorable experience there. My inside cabin was perfect sized for me but it was located mid-ship/aft next to a storage room and for some reason that storage room was like grand central station for my deck's cabin stewards. An important not on the Key West Port-if you dock at the Navy Yard you must bring your photo id with you even though you are inside the USA! Also, if you have a GPS with points of interests bring it to Key West! I did not book an excursion and was able to get anywhere using my Mio Digiwalker C520. Upon returning you, and your belongings will be subject to searches, and you will be asked for the ID in order to get back on the ship! So much for bringing just your "Sail and Sign Card". Grand Cayman we used launches. I went to Stingray City, did some shopping, ate free samples of Tortuga Rum Cakes, and was back to the ship in time for Lunch! Ocho Rios-I did the Coyaba Gardens, Island City Shopping, and Climb Dunns River Falls tour-for me was the best shore excursion I had on the cruise. Although I went into the casino-I did not gamble-I just watched other people loose their money. I did shop onboard and got a few items-prices are kind of high. Did work out at the Gym which was well equipped. Went to Captain's and Past Guests Cocktail Parties. The past guests was better due to it being held in the Main Lounge and had the ship's show band, although I did have a great time at both parties.








Publication Date: 01/26/08
More Carnival Liberty Cruise Reviews

Read the previous Carnival Liberty review Read the next Carnival Liberty review

Like This Review?



Register for a Meet & Mingle!
More Western Caribbean Cruise Reviews
Cruise Critic's Carnival Liberty Review
Carnival Cruise Deals
Carnival Message Board
Write a cruise review!
About UsAdvertisingEditorial DisclaimerPress
PrivacySite MapStoreSubscribe
X

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.

We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.