Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Celebrity Summit Cruise Review by BruinsFan75: Great ports, bad service


BruinsFan75
1 Review
Member Since 2013
4 Posts

Member Rating

Cabin 2.0
Dining 3.0
Embarkation 4.0
Enrichment Activities 3.0
Entertainment 3.0
Family & Children Not Rated
Fitness & Recreation 3.0
Public Rooms 3.0
Rates 2.0
Service 2.0
Shore Excursions 3.0
Value for Money 3.0

Compare Prices on Celebrity Summit Southern Caribbean Cruises

Great ports, bad service

Sail Date: January 2013
Destination: Southern Caribbean
Embarkation: San Juan

Traveled with the Elks group aboard the Celebrity Summit in a balcony room in concierge class (Jan 26 - Feb 2, 2013). The cruise started off rough from a a quality and service perspective and never recovered.

Ship Condition:

The ship supposedly was overhauled recently yet it looked like it wasn't well care for. Stained carpets and leaking ceilings throughout the ship. Stateroom had damaged trim, ripped linens, cracked shower floor, and mirrors that were losing their polish around the edges. Balcony railings looked like they needed to be refinished. Food serving areas had several machines out of order.

Crew Service:

Several members of our party had purchased premium drink packages prior to the cruise. Upon boarding they were told they only bought the basic package and would need to pay again to upgrade. Staff told guests that "there was nothing they could do to help, that they'd have to take it up with Celebrity Corporate after the cruise". Ship "ran More out" of light beers first day of the cruise requiring guests to purchase more expensive drinks. Several people in our party ran into issues with their ship cards and bar staff made scene in front of other guests that we would need to pay with cash. Ship officers said they would investigate then we'd later get a vmail message that said "We are sorry to hear you had a problem with your cruise experience, we have investigated the issue and hope your issue is now resolved." with no actual solution or further discussion of the problem. In-room breakfast orders were consistently wrong (hard boiled eggs instead of poached, 1 slice of bacon instead of 1 order of bacon, etc...). Room staff barged into room to grab plates when the wife was changing, wouldn't wait for her to finish. Had to ask several times for extra pillows. We never saw our Concierge the entire cruise. All non-dining room or specialty restaurant food service stopped at 7:00 PM. Internet service is charged by the minute, but the service is so slow that you use most of that time up waiting for pages to load. Should be charged by actual data used, just like cell phone plans.

What was good:

Q'sine, one of two specialty restaurants (Normandy (French food) is the other) was excellent serving a variety of small plate courses. The staff service there is what we expected in all other parts of the ship. The Caribbean islands. Less


Read more Celebrity Summit cruise reviews >>
Read Cruise Critic's Celebrity Summit Review >>

Cabin review: Celebrity Summit

The ship supposedly was overhauled recently yet it looked like it wasn't well care for. Stained carpets and leaking ceilings throughout the ship. Stateroom had damaged trim, ripped linens, cracked shower floor, and mirrors that were losing their polish around the edges. Balcony railings looked like they needed to be refinished. Food serving areas had several machines out of order.

Port and Shore Excursions


I loved Antigua (for the beaches). It has some of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen with white sand and turquoise water. We went on the "Taste of Antigua" tour so we could see more of the island after missing out on St. Lucia. The tour itself was so-so. The first stop was someone's house in a slum area where the citizen made woven cotton trinkets from island sourced cotton. The second stop was to a citizen's house in a rural setting where medicinal herb gardening was demonstrated. The owner was funny and the herbs and fruits were pretty good. The third stop was to a government black pineapple farm where the local workers had no interest in the tourists whatsoever, so the tour guides had to explain what was going on. The last stop was to a beach spot where demonstrations of pottery and tastes of local cuisine was shared. Spending some time on the beach swimming was the best part of the tour.
Read 796 Antigua Reviews

Barbados the island is very beautiful with wonderful beaches, however the inhabitants are very poor and are on you the second you get off the ship. We ended up walking to the Boat Yard (as did most other passengers) which is a beach pub with public beach frontage. Cover was $12 which included a free drink, beach chair, umbrella, and use of water toys/rope swing. Shopping was the typical duty free port-side fare.
Read 701 Barbados Reviews

I'll give a 4 only because I got sun-burnt on Barbados, so after crashing and napping most of the port day in St. Lucia away, I only got to see the port-side shopping area. The island itself looked beautiful and we'll go back for a longer stay.

This was our second time to St. Maarten. We spent the day shopping, eating, and drinking. St. Maarten has a wealthier, European feel and is always a pleasure to visit. Unlike last time, we avoided Orient Beach and were happier for it.

This was our second time to St. Thomas and like before we spent the day at Magen's Bay swimming and then stopping downtown to shop. The people are always friendly on St. Thomas and the feel is of a poorer American city. A lot of construction going on this time around too that made it a little difficult to get around, but we'll always like going back to St. Thomas.
Read 2318 St. Thomas Reviews

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.