Subscribe today
Get Cruise Critic in your inbox
Your Ultimate Cruise Guide

Grand Princess Cruise Review by Irishmikeone: Not so Grand Princess


Irishmikeone
1 Review
Member Since 2010
3 Posts

Member Rating

Cabin 1.0
Dining 3.0
Embarkation 3.0
Enrichment Activities 1.0
Entertainment 2.0
Family & Children Not Rated
Fitness & Recreation 2.0
Public Rooms 3.0
Rates 1.0
Service 3.0
Shore Excursions 2.0
Value for Money 1.0

Compare Prices on Grand Princess Transatlantic Cruises

Not so Grand Princess

Sail Date: November 2012
Destination: Transatlantic
Embarkation: Southampton

We are Platinum members who decided to take our third Princess cruise this year, this being on the Grand Princess voyage A232, Cabin A508, 14 day cruise for our 45th Wedding Anniversary. We received several emails telling us how beautiful the Grand Princess was after their refurbishment. Needless to say, we did not find the same, but instead have had more problems than on any other Princess cruise to date.

Beside the ship being in sad shape, crew that is not very helpful , but rude for the most part with a few exceptions, Joseph, head waiter, Franco waiter assistant. The rudest person we have found on board is Tim at the Purser's desk.
Here is a list by date thus far of the unresolved problems we have experienced:

The deck carpeting has been wet and damp the entire trip with fans running constantly, stewards using wet vacuums on the carpeting, replacing carpeting, and causing us coughing, eyes watering, wheezing which are the classic symptoms of mold.
We More are experiencing periodic metallic very loud clangs, like steel smashing into steel, which when it happens during sleep, constantly wakes us up. Friends on Deck 9 midship are experiencing the same annoying disturbances.

11/3/12 Told Steward about leak, wet, and stained carpeting inside and outside of our cabin. He said he reported it, but no resolution.

11/4/12 Steward placed towels in the threshold, but no resolution.

11/5/12 Reported shower temperature was not stable; it went from extremely hot to cold several times during showers. The temperature knob was incapable of holding in a detent position. Reported to room Steward, no resolution was implemented. Additionally reported again about the wet floor and water leak in the walls from ceiling, but no resolution was realized. Reported shower temperature was not stable, it went from extremely hot to cold several times during showers. The temperature knob was incapable of holding in a detent position. Suggested possibly the pool was leaking. No resolution.

11/6/12 Reported shower temperature was not stable; it went from extremely hot to cold several times during showers. The temperature knob was incapable of holding in a detent position. Reported to room Steward, requested he contact engineering.
Additionally reported again about the wet floor and water leak in the walls from ceiling above our cabin in the far wall in the corner by the night table Suggested possibly the pool was leaking from the deck above.
Again also reported shower temperature was not stable, it went from extremely hot to cold several times during showers. The temperature knob was incapable of holding in a detent position. Reported to room Steward, problems still exist. But no resolution was experienced. Requested he notify engineering. Engineering left a card in our cabin stating they fixed the shower knob. WRONG! Engineering opened the ceiling in the hallway and stated to me" no problem found". Problem still existed! NO resolution to either problems again!

11/7/12 reported same two problems. Two people from engineering arrived on the deck and quarantined the elevator hallway and steps outside our cabin. They worked on the leak for two days, installing orange colored hoses.
Steward continued with fans running for the third day and vacuuming carpeting.
Both problems still exist.

11/8/12 again, reported problem and complained of musty mold smell which was causing us coughing and sneezing constantly. Lots of movement by personnel, but still no resolutions was realized.

11/9/12 a female officer appeared with an engineer and she felt the carpeting and stated" it was not wet". Also showed her the numerous stains inside the cabin on the carpeting, she stated" they were only stains". They were WATER stains from the still present water leak.

11/10/12 Problems still exist. Found another card in our cabin that had a check mark for Hotel carpenter? Didn't say they did anything.

11/11/12 Problems still exist.

11/12/12 Problems still exist. Too little, too late! We gave up, but Princess was the real loser. We were going to do the future cruise credit for two cabins while on board this cruise. Because of this disastrous cruise, we decided not to do so, and are considering returning to Holland America where we are members of their elite program.
Received phone call from Eugene, front desk manager, who stated, he was going to come to the cabin to fix the problem. I guess the engineers are now running the Purser's desk if the front desk are fixing leaks? Eugene stated they were unaware of any problems. Believe, besides all other problems on the Grand Princess, you have major communication problems.
Afternoon they replaced the carpeting on the outside of cabin threshold. Engineer stated, they were removing and replacing the "WET CARPETING" that the officer stated, did NOT exist?

The refurbishment of the Grand Princess was a farce. The ship is in poor functional and cosmetic shape. Elevators do not work properly. Obviously leakage problems that keep my wife up at night because she's not sure if the ship is going to stay afloat, the padding in the seats in the dining and public areas are non-existent, very old and tired, the mattresses are in need of replacement, you can't walk the decks because they have deck 6 and 7 closed for repairs.

On two of our recent Princess cruises we had the extreme pleasure of having the Commodore Romano at the helm and he runs a fantastic ship. Very available to guests and crew, tours the various decks daily, gives a complete and clearly understandable daily verbal report at high noon sharp. His log on the TV is complete with temperature, humidity, speed, etc. Not like this ship's Captain who has an incomplete log on the TV every day since we left Southampton, UK. Also, several guests have complained you can NOT understand this Captain. He doesn't have the microphone close enough, and has poor diction, and cuts off the end of each sentence.

As two Platinum members well on our way to Elite (should have been Elite already, but you don't count cruises on your other CCL cruise lines), also CCL stock holders we will NEVER sail on the Grand (not so Grand) Princess ship. We will be sure to tell all of our associates about this nightmare on the Grand Princess.

Thank you for destroying this most important cruise for the two of us on our special 45th wedding anniversary. Less


Read more Grand Princess cruise reviews >>
Read Cruise Critic's Grand Princess Review >>

Cabin review: Grand Princess Interior Double Baja Deck a508

Port and Shore Excursions


Princess tour of Honfleur was a total waste. Nothing was open, just walked and walked, and tour guide talked endlessly about nothing. She took us to a restroom that was worse than any restroom I used in the third world. No toilets, just holes in the floor, no towels, soap, lights, etc.

Good non Princess private tour including mountain top lakes and the city.

Island Tour

(3)
Island was run down and ugly.

Santiago de Compostela

(4)
Good tour of Santiago and the Cathedral where St. James was buried.

Thank You For Signing Up!

Please Note: To ensure delivery of your free e-letters, please add news@cruisecritic.com to your address book.
We're committed to protecting your privacy and will not rent or sell your e-mail address. By proceeding, you agree to our Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.